Pineapple Sweet Potato Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Potato Mixture Topping mixture 3c sweet potatoes, cubed 1/4c all purpose flour 1/2c brown sugar 1/4c margarine, melted 1/4c margarine, softened 1c crushed pineapple, drained 2 eggs 1 egg, lightly beaten 2tsp vanilla 1/2c white sugar 1/4c milk 1/2c chopped pecans (optional) Preheat overn to 350º/175º. Grease 2 quart baking dish. Potato Mixture: In a large pot, cover potatoes with water bringing to a boil. Reduce to simmer until tender. About 20 minutes. Drain. In large bowl, mash potatoes, adding brown sugar, soft margarine, 2 eggs, vanilla, and milk. Beat until fluffy. Fold in nuts if desired. Pour into baking dish. Topping: In a bowl, mix flour, melted margarine, pineapple, white sugar and 1 egg until blended well. Spoon over potato mixture. Bake until golden, about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Holland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was a perfect recipe for my husband on a soft diet after dental surgery. It was the first time I ever tried a souffle. Wish I had taken a photo of this. It rose nicely and was very visually appealing. I did a different method on the topping: I mixed 1/4 C sugar,1/8 C All-purpose flour, 1/8 C self rising flour, 1 egg and 1 C drained crushed pineapple. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I've made this 4 or 5 times now, and keep coming back again and again! I agree with other reviewers that it's very sweet (Think Dessert!), but it's so tasty! I use the 3 eggs that it calls for in the directions, +1 more for the topping (4 eggs total). It's baked up nice and fluffy for me every time. As with any baking, make sure your eggs are at room temp when you whip them in so they incorporate well. I would recommend that you allow yourself time to let it cool about 20 minutes before serving. The only time I've made a substitution was when I was given a load of Acorn squash and tried substituting it for the potatoes. I did some draining to make sure it wasn't too moist - otherwise the substitution worked very well. It had a slightly different texture, but puffed up great and only lasted one night in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Hysell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent recipe! Texture is light, sweet, and very tasty. I crushed fresh pineapple instead of using canned - I felt it was 10X better that way. I also used real butter and homemade vanilla extract. Major YUM factor. :) All in all a wonderful alternative to a traditional sweet potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This is the best sweet potato recipe I have ever had! Love the blend of sweet potato and pineapple. Every year I am blessed enough that a sweet potato farmer gives me a box of sweet potatoes. I am sharing this recipe with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I wanted a different twist on sweet potatoes this year. This was fairly easy, baked beautifully and I received many compliments. I added a few chopped nuts on top for interest. I gave it 4 stars because it was really more sugar than would be my first preference. Next time I will try cutting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was ok. Missing something, and kinda of a strange taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I have been making this for a couple of years now. I took it to a family dinner and it was the hit of the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
We eat baked sweet potatoes (yams) year round at our house. How can anything so good for you taste so good! I baked this recipe tonight and wasn't disappointed! This was a 'delish dish' souffle . . . high fives cinnalady! My personal preference was butter instead of margarine - everything else was perfect. The pineapple topping was really good! Note: I believe there is a typo under Directions #2: It reads "3 eggs" for the souffle; I believe it should read 2 eggs as the Ingredients call for plus the 1 egg to mix with the pineapple topping. Is this correct cinnalady?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlNextDoor
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States