Pineapple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
While the dough is very sticky, the finished product is absolutely delicious. These are tender and light. I used an ice cream scoop, almost full, to portion the dough. Mine needed a few extra minutes to bake, but I was using AirBake cookie sheets and parchment paper. I juiced the orange after zesting and mixed some of the juice with powdered sugar to make a glaze. I added toasted coconut to a few and the combination was out of this world. (They are great as is, also. Scones are often served with jam.) Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
People in the states tend to like things super-sweet because they've been weaned on Twinkies. Scones are NOT supposed to be overly sweet. These are very good, considering the fact that the dough is like that of cookie dough. I just used tablespoon fulls and dropped them on the sheet. AWESOME! And not too much sugar. Have them with tea or coffee and they're even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Moskal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
These are wonderful! I made two batches this weekend because we're having a mob of house guests for the holidays - I'm sure they will go over very big! I was very pleasantly surprised to find the coconut milk with no problem whatsoever. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
These turned out really yummy. They were not dry at all, perhaps because of the pineapple. I served them with English Breakfast tea, honey and butter. I will be making these for my next brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jereca74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Used bread flour instead of all purpose flour, low-fat coconut milk and pineapple mange marmelade (made locally) instead of honey. They were fabulous--Not too doughy or too dry; slightly sweet and slightly savory. I made them for a staff breakfast a couple months ago and they were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Awesome! i added 1/2 a tsp of nutmeg and cinnamon and they came out so delicious! my whole family loved them, even my picky children. I now make these regularly because everyone loved them so much! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Not a bad recipe. A little dry yes but if you top with butter and a little honey they are very nice. I did not have any pineapples so used a can of fruit cocktail, quite a nice variation but would like to try it with just pineapples next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Followed recipe except for these changes: used just under 1 cup crushed pineapple (only had a big can of it), substituted 1 tsp dried orange peel for fresh zest, added 2 Tb sweetened coconut flakes, 1/2 tsp cinnamon. and 1/4 tsp each nutmeg & cardamom. Baked 17 minutes & they were soft like light fluffy biscuits (different than I'm used to for scones) but just the right amount of sweet! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I think these were pretty good, I added some sugar and a little Garam Masala which made them much tastier. But like all recipies they are easy to change your taste. So this is a geat recipie to play with. Thank you for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMBOOPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I was very skeptical when making these scones because I've never had such "slop" to deal with in making scones. But these turned out to be the fluffiest and easiest scones I have ever made. I intend to use the recipe as a base for other flavors (these flavors were not the best for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States