Pineapple Ricotta Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great recipe and even for those who don't THINK they fancy pineapple! I didn't do the precise measuring, but just mixed the liquids then added the Ricotta then the cake mix and it came out fabulous. I did add a tsp of vanilla which added a nice little pop of flavor. No need to frost and definitely get the crushed pineapple that's in its own juice not sweetened in any way. Also, use REAL ricotta not low cal or diet. The muffins loose texture if you sub in the fake stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I used a coconut cake mix instead of white cake mix and whole milk ricotta. I also added 1/2 cup toasted, chopped pecans. Outrageously good! This is to correct my previous review. I didn't realize I had checked 1 star instead of 5. Duh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn32789

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I just made these this afternoon. I made them exactly according to the recipe, using the white cake mix and they are very moist and flavorful. They were easy to make, and absolutely delicious. Having my second one with a fresh cup of coffee right now. Could not wait for the coffee to be made so had to eat one before I had the coffee. Thanks neesienc, this is a definite keeper. Juneann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I went camping this past weekend and I decided to try this recipe in my propane operated oven....they were quick, fast and delicious ...my husband and other couple with us gobbled them up... I used the white cake from Duncan Hines..will be making these again when I go camping...ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
For me this was just ok. I get where its going, but mine were pretty dry and crumbly after spending 21 min in the oven. I would suggest either not draining the pineapple (as the batter was unusually thick) or reducing the baking time to 15-20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Little dry for my taste, even after adding some of the pineapple juice to the batter. Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I just made this today and they were so moist and yummy. I made it with french vanilla cake mix and it very very good. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I made these with a coconut cake mix and fresh pineapple (guessed on the amount). I thought they were delicious, like little Pina Colada cakes. Yes, cakes, not muffins. That is why I gave this recipe 4 stars and not 5. They do not have the consistency of muffins, at all. I would definitely make them again, however, possibly trying the white cake mix and mixing coconut in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
A FANTASTIC way to use leftover ricotta without having to resort to yet ANOTHER Italian dinner. Great muffin. Light but lots of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
My muffins were very moist as I missed that bit about draining the pineapple! Nevertheless, they turned out well and my kids loved them. Difficult to categorize - too sweet to be a muffin, too healthy to be a cupcake :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States