Pineapple Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by 5boys2cook4
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is really good. I used long grain rice and had no problems with this getting thick and creamy. The higher fat the milk is that you use, the better. I'll use a can of evaporated milk, and then regular milk for the rest. With the cream cheese, I usually use 4 oz because it's easier to just cut an 8oz block in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5boys2cook4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This was delicious, rich, creamy pudding. I had to cook the rice mixture 20 minutes to reach the thick/creamy stage. Also, I added a tiny bit more sugar at the end of cooking. I liked the pineapple sauce, but my husband preferred his pudding without the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
every other day when i was in boarding school in ireland we got a bowl of rice pudding with a dollop of jam in the center for a sweet after dinner. and so began my love affair with rice pudding, i have tried many many recipes for rice pudding and this one is by far the best, when i make rice for the meal i always make three cups extra so i can put together this rice pudding. nostalgically though i leave out the pineapple sauce (have tried it though, and it is excellent) but add the dollop of jam. takes me back to a simpler time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
My family absolutely loved it !! I did just a couple of small changes to make it more personal though. I added cinnamon to the pudding and replaced 1 cup milk with whipping cream. Didn't last the night. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Yum! I have made this several times now and even for a potluck at work. Just the rice pudding in this recipe is fabulous, very creamy. I really think the cream cheese is the key here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made this for the first time and was absolutely delighted with the results. As another reviewer had suggested, I used 1 can of evaporated milk (the remainder was regular milk) and also 4oz cream cheese (easier to just cut the cheese block in half). I used "Lundberg's" california white jasmine long grain rice. This recipe beats store-bought rice pudding, that's for sure! I found it to be the perfect sweetness. My boyfriend asked me how many years I had been making this & was surprised when I said it was my first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by north_mountain_gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
For those of you having trouble with thickening, try a shorter, whiter rice. they tend to have more starchy properties than the long grain varieties, which is why the are used for risotto. try a risotto blend, or a nice sushi rice for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
My family didn't care much about this one or the pineapple sauce. I personally thought it was too dry or not creamy enough, so I kept adding more milk to it. It was also not sweet enough by itself, thus the reason for the pineapple sauce I guess. The pineapple sause taste reminded me of the baby food pineapple dessert. I don't think I might be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very good recipe. I really liked the pineapple sauce. It added a new touch to an old favorite. Very easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very delicious! I added about a tsp allspice to rice mixture 1/2 way through it's cook time, and this went really well with the sauce! Kids liked it plain though. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States