Pineapple Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I have tried other pineapple rhubarb pie recipes, but this is absolutely the best. I did make a few suggested changes: 1 cup sugar, 20 ounce can of pineapple and 1/4 C flour. The 20 ounce can of pineapple yields 1 pound of pineapple after draining. So the amounts of fruit were equal. Used my own pie crust recipe with 1/2 butter and 3 tablespoons of sugar. A perfect dessert that my family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This makes a simple very tasty pie. I used fresh pineapple and fresh rhubarb. I made it a second time, reducing the sugar by 1/8 cup (I just used 1 cup sugar), and adding 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 tsp nutmeg and was delighted with the results - the spices and reduced sugar brought out the tartness of the rhubarb, but not overwhelmingly so. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is a very unusual pie -- I'd never think of adding pineapple! But try it, you'll love it -- it is fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Excellent recipe! I got lots of good comments on this pie. The rhubarb and pineapple pair very well. My only comment is that this recipe does not make a deep dish pie. When I made it in my deep dish pie plate, it was disappointingly shallow. The next time I made it, I simply increased the filling ingredients by half to get a full pie. I will definitely make this pie again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I liked the combination of rhubarb and pineapple. I think I like just rhubarb better. It was different .I used suggestions of crushed pineapple (20 oz can) and 1/3 cup flour. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Just OK. I wouldn't make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
The flavor combination is really good! Rhubarb still powers over pineapple, but you get this random sweet bite of the pineapple and it livens up the sauce. Note: 4 cups equal about a pound. Also- replace 1/3 cup flour for the tapioca and don't completely drain the pineapple-- you end up with a perfect consistency and sweetly flavored sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Just a great recipe as is. Simple and tasty and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I never had the courage to eat rhubarb, but I have a bunch growing in my garden and had to make something with it. I made this pie and for the first time I was really impressed. The pineapple was the perfect contrast and gave enough sweetness. I made it for mother's day and it was a big hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magra2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I read this review and ended up making it exactly as the recipe called for - I used Minute tapioca. The pie was excellent! My husband and his friends love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States