Pineapple Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I have tried other pineapple rhubarb pie recipes, but this is absolutely the best. I did make a few suggested changes: 1 cup sugar, 20 ounce can of pineapple and 1/4 C flour. The 20 ounce can of pineapple yields 1 pound of pineapple after draining. So the amounts of fruit were equal. Used my own pie crust recipe with 1/2 butter and 3 tablespoons of sugar. A perfect dessert that my family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This makes a simple very tasty pie. I used fresh pineapple and fresh rhubarb. I made it a second time, reducing the sugar by 1/8 cup (I just used 1 cup sugar), and adding 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 tsp nutmeg and was delighted with the results - the spices and reduced sugar brought out the tartness of the rhubarb, but not overwhelmingly so. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is a very unusual pie -- I'd never think of adding pineapple! But try it, you'll love it -- it is fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Excellent recipe! I got lots of good comments on this pie. The rhubarb and pineapple pair very well. My only comment is that this recipe does not make a deep dish pie. When I made it in my deep dish pie plate, it was disappointingly shallow. The next time I made it, I simply increased the filling ingredients by half to get a full pie. I will definitely make this pie again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I liked the combination of rhubarb and pineapple. I think I like just rhubarb better. It was different .I used suggestions of crushed pineapple (20 oz can) and 1/3 cup flour. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Just OK. I wouldn't make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
The flavor combination is really good! Rhubarb still powers over pineapple, but you get this random sweet bite of the pineapple and it livens up the sauce. Note: 4 cups equal about a pound. Also- replace 1/3 cup flour for the tapioca and don't completely drain the pineapple-- you end up with a perfect consistency and sweetly flavored sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Just a great recipe as is. Simple and tasty and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I never had the courage to eat rhubarb, but I have a bunch growing in my garden and had to make something with it. I made this pie and for the first time I was really impressed. The pineapple was the perfect contrast and gave enough sweetness. I made it for mother's day and it was a big hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magra2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I read this review and ended up making it exactly as the recipe called for - I used Minute tapioca. The pie was excellent! My husband and his friends love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States