Pineapple Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this for a family get together. You definitely have to drain the pineapple, which should be noted in recipe. so glad I listened to other reviewers. I used some of the juice for the whole packet of pudding and also added 1/4 cup of milk. I did everything else the same as recipe. The crust was a little to salty for my taste, but maybe it was the pretzels I used.Some of my family said they would really like it with my homemade graham cracker crust. So I think I would make it that way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I used a stick-and-a-half of butter; and followed the rest of the instructions carefully; the pretzles were still really googey/rubbery and didn't stick together; I then put the middle layer on; perfect taste, and then put on the pudding/pineapple mixture; this combination was not very good. We threw most of this out. Even my daughter who'll eat any dessert thought it was "okay". I wouldn't make this version again. Next time, I'll use a pre-baked sugar cookie dough and then mix strawberry jam and coolwhip combined with red food coloring for the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Janie Pendleton

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I did use the pineapple juice to make the pudding, but otherwise I did not change the recipe at all. It was very good...even my boyfriend who was very skeptical to begin with, really liked it! The best part of it all is the smell of the pretzel/butter combination when it come out of the oven. Fantastically wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This recipe was delicious. It is a light pineapple taste with some creaminess & a touch of saltiness. Its not overly sweet, but still suitable to be called dessert. I made it as the recipe stated, but as others was a touch confused about directions. I drained well & reserved juices from pineapple. Then I added the dry pudding mix into the well drained pineapple stirring well then adding a touch of juice back in to get a consistency that would spread but hold steady when scooping out. I will have to say, I only made this one time and took it to a gathering that I used to get raves on others dishes but got none on this. I liked it & will make it again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Always a hit. Holds up well, even on a warm day. Does not "melt" like strawberry version. Cool, refreshing and have always come home with an empty pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was too sweet for my liking, and I followed the recipe exactly. The sugar and whip cream and vanilla pudding mix are just sugar overload. I'd suggest adding some lemon juice to the pineapple to make it a little more tart and prevent it from browning. I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Just made this for a gathering we are having this afternoon. Of course, the cook has to taste test. It was excellent. I used a full package of sugar free pudding and substituted splenda. Turned out great. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was delicious! I like it better than the strawberry version. I did have to add 1/2 cup more pretzels, since the crust was saturated in butter. I would probably add a little more dry vanilla pudding to the pineapple next time, because I would have like a stronger vanilla taste. As other have said, DRAIN THE PINEAPPLE extremely well. (I will use a colander next time). Overall, though, this recipe is worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Crust--1-1/2 C pretzels, 3/4 C Sugar, & 6 TBSP Butte Topping--1-1/2 (20oz) Can of Crushed Pineapple, & entire (3.4oz) pkg of pudding mix. Everyone enjoyed, but I still prefer the jello with strawberries topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Instructions were a little ambiguous and didn't come out as well as I hoped. I plan to play with it and possibly next time use a flavored jello instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic Party Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States