Pineapple Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
My family loved this pie. I did do a few things differently. I used lemon juice but no zest. I only had a can of cubed pineapple so I crushed myself in a food processor. It was nearly an applesauce texture after that. I tempered the eggs and didn't stop stirring the entire time it was on the heat. I also added a few drops of coconut extract. My filling wasn't clumpy at all. After cooling it was firm no running in the pan etc. Only thing I will do differently next time is make two. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
The reviews are all over the place on this one, and after making it I see why. First of all, I think the eggs should be tempered. Tempering gradually cooks the eggs so they remain liquid and don't become little eggy bits. Gradually add the hot mixture to the egg mixture, whisking the egg mixture all the while, until the egg mixture has become hot. Then, whisk the egg mixture into the hot mixture. Voila! Tempering. I tempered the eggs and I was fine. The eggs will be cooked this way so the pie doesn't need baked. Secondly, I think 1 tablespoon of lemon zest is way too much. I should have caught that as an experienced cook, but I missed it and think that it made the pie almost too lemony and almost bitter--and I LOVE lemon! 1 teaspoon would have been best. I'm not sure where the comments about the eggs not mixing with the salt, sugar, and flour are coming from--my mix was still wet; no clumps here. I used 1/2 c less sugar and it was fine, but I'm not convinced that made the difference. So, if you temper the eggs and use less lemon zest, this recipe would be stellar. As is, it does have some issues so I think it is more 3 stars right now. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I don't normally give low ratings but this is one I had to be honest about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I thought the filling was too sweet and it was runny even after it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Great flavor! It took some time to get the egg yolks into the dry ingredients, but after that everything went off without a hitch! I put whipped cream on top which made just the right amount of sweet; next time I want to try a crumb crust :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This pie is very good. Not wanting to waste pineapple and not having a small can of crushed pineapple, I used a 15oz can of crushed pineapple. It had a great flavor and we didn't notice a big lemon flavor. Maybe that was because of the extra pineapple. I love pineapple and pineapple pie and to me this is a keeper recipe. it goes together quickly so when time is short, this is a good one to pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blackraven935
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this last night and stuck it in the fridge. We just ate some and it was good! I would add the eggs differently next time, but it all mixed together quite well. Thickened well. And set very well in the refrigerator. We served it with whipped topping on top, because it help reduce the citrus kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackraven935

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Something is missing (besides the baking instructions). I thought I'd use the filling as a substitute for canned pie filling on a coffee cake, but it failed miserably. Either the proportions are wrong, or the directions - the egg yolks mixed into the sugar and flour become a crumbly mixture, which, when added to the pineapple mixture on the stove, does NOT combine. Just a friendly warning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States