Pineapple Orange Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Orange flavor is lost but they were ok overall. Sweet enough to eat without syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Outstanding pancakes! I used drained crushed pineapple and added a handful of shredded coconut. Adding zested orange peel enhances the orange flavor. These were a perfect tropical treat for our brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The orange flavor is lost - these are strictly pineapple pancakes. After the first batch, I added a tsp of orange yest, 1/4 tsp of orange extract, and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract, but that didn't help much. NOTE: I used (drained) crushed pineapple per other reviews, and I think that worked well. Also, make sure you cook these on MEDIUM HEAT. Don't crank up the griddle like with normal pancakes or you'll blacken them, like I did with my first batch. The rest I cooked just under medium heat and got the lovely caramel-color they should be, with just a tinge of orange. Very pretty. Bottom line, these were just okay for us. An interesting change, but I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Thought these were delish! We read reviews and added a little orange zest and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Orange flavor is lost. used 1/2 c juice, and increased flour to maintain consistency. Could deal without pineapple chunks, so would recommend crushed if you must have pineapple flavor. Made a pineapple juice "syrup" as others suggested so as not to waste (though drinking is tasty too). This helped, but again, would rather not have a chunk//chopped fruit pancake. otherwise, it's a fluffy buttermilk pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
These were alright, even after adding a touch of ginger and vanilla. My husband and I weren't huge fans, the pineapple chunks were too big which probably didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I was really expecting to taste some orange flavor, but there was nothing. Next time I will add some orange zest or extract. I also added some cinnamon, ginger and a pinch of nutmeg for some added flavor. This recipe is a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was good, though you could stand to ditch the sugar (pineapple and OJ provides enough on their own), and to really compliment the pineapple, it would be better with a healthy dose of grated orange rind added to the batter. I make stramberry-lemon pancakes regularly and use essentially the same recipe, but the rind is very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These pancakes are tasty. I used crushed pineapple and I did add vanilla. Next time I would also add ginger. Most flavored pancake recipes do call for vanilla and cinnamon--an extract and a spice (of some sort) are pretty standard in flavored pancakes, and I don't know why they were omitted here, so I'd add them back in. The orange juice was lost in this recipe, and I did want to taste it, so next time I'd probably add orange zest or extract. Thanks for the recipe, we enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These pancakes were a different texture and taste at our table, I will make them again...I used crushed pineapple, drained...instead chopped. I rated it a 4, this time...because of my error...make sure that they are brown enough, because of the crushed pineapple, when I went to serve them, they were not quite done in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bear Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States