Pineapple Mojo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I was trying to figure out what to do with a yellow cake mix and a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple sitting in my pantry, and I came across this recipe. The changes I made were to substitute 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the oil called for on the box and add 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt. The large can of pineapple yielded right at one cup of juice. I used all the pineapple and mixed it with the brown sugar, butter and cinnamon, which I increased to 1 tsp. I used a 9x13 pan and this turned out very good. I did have to increase the bake time to about 45 minutes...cake was light and moist and the pineapple layer was perfect. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinsley, Kansas, USA
Living In: Americus, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was delicious, I got multiple recipe requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I added a few raisins to my cake batter....major hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have been craving pineapple cake for a while. I pretty much kept to the recipe, except i used pecans instead of walnuts. Also,I was short on pineapple juice so I added a touch of light rum instead of water. It was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer Nunnally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
wow...i loved it! i followed most of the recipe, using a 9 x 13 pan and definitely doubled the topping. i also used a 15 oz. can of crushed pineapple, there was enough juice to replace the water in the cake mix. i decided to put about 1/2 cup of the pineapple in the cake mix...it took a lot longer to bake, but was so worth it. i didn't use nuts. now...how to hide it from my husband so it lasts a few days?? :o) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My family loved it. I also added cherries to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Love this. I make it with homemade coconut frosting. Yum Yum. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
EXCELLENT! My husband, 20 mo old son and I have literally eaten almost the entire cake in 3 days! I did make a mistake by not reading the recipe correctly and accidentally added the butter, brown sugar, cinnamon mixture to cake mixture. I just remade it and threw it together anyway. It was soooooo good and sooooo moist. I doubt you'd need to do what I did for it to be really moist.. but I would recommend adding the cinnamon and maybe a little brown sugar to the cake mix though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was good, but I did use a 20 can of pineapple and adjusted accordingly. I didn't care for the cinnamon, so next time I will leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Great cake - I am not usually a cake mix lover, but had one on hand. I used a 9 x 13 cake pan, and used a 20 ounce can of pineapple rings (because that is what I had in my pantry!) - will try as written next time - easy, delicious & fast. Best eaten warm right from the oven (gets a bit soggy by the next day).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States