Pineapple Mojo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I was trying to figure out what to do with a yellow cake mix and a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple sitting in my pantry, and I came across this recipe. The changes I made were to substitute 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the oil called for on the box and add 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt. The large can of pineapple yielded right at one cup of juice. I used all the pineapple and mixed it with the brown sugar, butter and cinnamon, which I increased to 1 tsp. I used a 9x13 pan and this turned out very good. I did have to increase the bake time to about 45 minutes...cake was light and moist and the pineapple layer was perfect. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinsley, Kansas, USA
Living In: Americus, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was delicious, I got multiple recipe requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I added a few raisins to my cake batter....major hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have been craving pineapple cake for a while. I pretty much kept to the recipe, except i used pecans instead of walnuts. Also,I was short on pineapple juice so I added a touch of light rum instead of water. It was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer Nunnally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
wow...i loved it! i followed most of the recipe, using a 9 x 13 pan and definitely doubled the topping. i also used a 15 oz. can of crushed pineapple, there was enough juice to replace the water in the cake mix. i decided to put about 1/2 cup of the pineapple in the cake mix...it took a lot longer to bake, but was so worth it. i didn't use nuts. now...how to hide it from my husband so it lasts a few days?? :o) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My family loved it. I also added cherries to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Love this. I make it with homemade coconut frosting. Yum Yum. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
EXCELLENT! My husband, 20 mo old son and I have literally eaten almost the entire cake in 3 days! I did make a mistake by not reading the recipe correctly and accidentally added the butter, brown sugar, cinnamon mixture to cake mixture. I just remade it and threw it together anyway. It was soooooo good and sooooo moist. I doubt you'd need to do what I did for it to be really moist.. but I would recommend adding the cinnamon and maybe a little brown sugar to the cake mix though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was good, but I did use a 20 can of pineapple and adjusted accordingly. I didn't care for the cinnamon, so next time I will leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Great cake - I am not usually a cake mix lover, but had one on hand. I used a 9 x 13 cake pan, and used a 20 ounce can of pineapple rings (because that is what I had in my pantry!) - will try as written next time - easy, delicious & fast. Best eaten warm right from the oven (gets a bit soggy by the next day).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States