Pineapple, Lime, and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
I loved this soup.It smelled great and had a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This recipe intrigued me...had to try it. Yum!!! I will definitely make this again. I used chicken broth for the liquid and added canned shredded chicken. Absolutely addictive blend of flavors...Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Complex flavors. very good. I sliced one boneless skinless chicken breast really thin (stir-fry style). a little oil in pan and I stir-fried chicken and then proceeded with the recipe- used a very large jalapeno as my pepper- did not have fresh limes, so I used 2 tbls. of key lime juice-added extra cilantro (love that stuff)- will make again.. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
tHIS WAS SOOOOOOOOOOO GREAT!!!! I LOVE THAI AND INDAIN FOOD, AND THIS JUST HIT THE SPOT KIDDIES :p NEXT TIME, I THINK I'LL USE A LIL' LESS LIME JUICE, IT WAS A LIL' SOUR :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This soup is delicious! I added one maggi chicken stock cube and left out the salt. I also did not add as much lime as the recipe calls for and not as much water. One can add a little coconut milk if one desires, but it's equally good without it. Will definately make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I have made this soup about three times and loved it, even though I did it a little different each time. Ive substituted salsa for the tomato, also used tomato soup concentrate, and subbed lemon for lime. I really like this soup, but it does have a lot of really strong flavors. Probably not for unadventurous eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I was a little leery of adding tomatoes, but I went ahead and did it. This soup is so good! It's a great mixture of sweet and hot and just right. I served it with rice same as I would dal, and I can't wait to make it for Janmastami! Almost effortless and super quick on the stovetop. I think kids would love this recipe as it isn't too hot (though you could add more peppers-I used a jalapeno!) and it mingles with the rice in just the right way. Super!! Haribol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
wow. this soup was awesome. i love the spicy/sweet contradiction, and the acidity level was just right. i used half water and half coconut milk, starting with the milk, and eased up on the cumin. don't be frightened by the tomatoes; they're a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I agree with another reviewer that something is just missing here. But I think it is a great recipe, so Im rating it a 4 hoping that I figure out what is missing. I think maybe it is too much pineapple and too little BLANK. No idea. I doubled the jalepeno and also purreed it when finished. Im going to eat it tomorrow chilled and see if that fixed the mystery problem. :-) Good luck, I think it is worse a try. - Okay, I have been eating this non-stop since I chilled it. It is great as a chilled pineapple soup on a hot day :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
My changes to this recipe made it absolutely wonderful. Here's what you should add to your ingredient list: 1 red bell pepper (julienned) 1/2 yellow onion (chopped) 3 cloves of garlic (minced) 1 zucchini (quartered) 1/4 cup coconut milk 1 vegetable bouillon cube instead of the salt that the recipe calls for I also doubled the ginger/pepper/cumin mix (because you need to add more liquids to account for the extra veggies) and I left out the tomatoes. Begin by sauteing the onion and garlic and then add the bell pepper and zucchini--saute for a few minutes. Add 1 cup of water, ginger/pepper/cumin mix, pineapple and veggie bouillon cube--stir and bring to boil. Add half of the coconut milk and bring to a boil again. Add as much more water is desired for your soup--I added another cup, brought it to a boil. Then add the remaining coconut milk. I always taste my food as I go along. For me, it needed more salt so I added a little bit and I like spice so I added a little cayenne pepper. The soup turned out really good and I would highly recommend my version! I can't imagine this soup without the veggies--it seems it would be a bit boring. Enjoy my Thai inspired version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States