Pineapple, Lime, and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This soup is delicious! I added one maggi chicken stock cube and left out the salt. I also did not add as much lime as the recipe calls for and not as much water. One can add a little coconut milk if one desires, but it's equally good without it. Will definately make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Complex flavors. very good. I sliced one boneless skinless chicken breast really thin (stir-fry style). a little oil in pan and I stir-fried chicken and then proceeded with the recipe- used a very large jalapeno as my pepper- did not have fresh limes, so I used 2 tbls. of key lime juice-added extra cilantro (love that stuff)- will make again.. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I have made this soup about three times and loved it, even though I did it a little different each time. Ive substituted salsa for the tomato, also used tomato soup concentrate, and subbed lemon for lime. I really like this soup, but it does have a lot of really strong flavors. Probably not for unadventurous eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
tHIS WAS SOOOOOOOOOOO GREAT!!!! I LOVE THAI AND INDAIN FOOD, AND THIS JUST HIT THE SPOT KIDDIES :p NEXT TIME, I THINK I'LL USE A LIL' LESS LIME JUICE, IT WAS A LIL' SOUR :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
I loved this soup.It smelled great and had a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I was a little leery of adding tomatoes, but I went ahead and did it. This soup is so good! It's a great mixture of sweet and hot and just right. I served it with rice same as I would dal, and I can't wait to make it for Janmastami! Almost effortless and super quick on the stovetop. I think kids would love this recipe as it isn't too hot (though you could add more peppers-I used a jalapeno!) and it mingles with the rice in just the right way. Super!! Haribol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
wow. this soup was awesome. i love the spicy/sweet contradiction, and the acidity level was just right. i used half water and half coconut milk, starting with the milk, and eased up on the cumin. don't be frightened by the tomatoes; they're a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I agree with another reviewer that something is just missing here. But I think it is a great recipe, so Im rating it a 4 hoping that I figure out what is missing. I think maybe it is too much pineapple and too little BLANK. No idea. I doubled the jalepeno and also purreed it when finished. Im going to eat it tomorrow chilled and see if that fixed the mystery problem. :-) Good luck, I think it is worse a try. - Okay, I have been eating this non-stop since I chilled it. It is great as a chilled pineapple soup on a hot day :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This recipe intrigued me...had to try it. Yum!!! I will definitely make this again. I used chicken broth for the liquid and added canned shredded chicken. Absolutely addictive blend of flavors...Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
My changes to this recipe made it absolutely wonderful. Here's what you should add to your ingredient list: 1 red bell pepper (julienned) 1/2 yellow onion (chopped) 3 cloves of garlic (minced) 1 zucchini (quartered) 1/4 cup coconut milk 1 vegetable bouillon cube instead of the salt that the recipe calls for I also doubled the ginger/pepper/cumin mix (because you need to add more liquids to account for the extra veggies) and I left out the tomatoes. Begin by sauteing the onion and garlic and then add the bell pepper and zucchini--saute for a few minutes. Add 1 cup of water, ginger/pepper/cumin mix, pineapple and veggie bouillon cube--stir and bring to boil. Add half of the coconut milk and bring to a boil again. Add as much more water is desired for your soup--I added another cup, brought it to a boil. Then add the remaining coconut milk. I always taste my food as I go along. For me, it needed more salt so I added a little bit and I like spice so I added a little cayenne pepper. The soup turned out really good and I would highly recommend my version! I can't imagine this soup without the veggies--it seems it would be a bit boring. Enjoy my Thai inspired version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States