Pineapple, Lime, and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Maybe I'll try with chicken stock next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This recipe intrigued me...had to try it. Yum!!! I will definitely make this again. I used chicken broth for the liquid and added canned shredded chicken. Absolutely addictive blend of flavors...Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I would give this recipe a higher rating for uniqueness if I could, but it was just not very "WOW" as a stand-alone soup. I ended up doubling the ginger in the recipe because I didn't think it was strong enough in the amount called for in the recipe. I agree with previous ratings that it is just missing something. I love that it was so simple to make, and I will be making it again, but I think next time I will be adding about 2T. of peanut butter in the second step, as well as garnish with sliced green onions...I think these modifications would give it a little more Pineapple Pad Thai flare. I will add later whether these modifications made much difference. Overall, great recipe, but needs some modifications according to the tastes of the cook :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I modified this recipe a lot. Thats the reason I am giving it a 3. I added one cup of diced baby carrots, two stalks celery, half a medium onion choped, sauteed everything with ginger garlic paste instead of just ginger. Did not add cumin seeds at the end. And ofcourse added cumin powder and fresh cilantro and it turned out great. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I agree with another reviewer that something is just missing here. But I think it is a great recipe, so Im rating it a 4 hoping that I figure out what is missing. I think maybe it is too much pineapple and too little BLANK. No idea. I doubled the jalepeno and also purreed it when finished. Im going to eat it tomorrow chilled and see if that fixed the mystery problem. :-) Good luck, I think it is worse a try. - Okay, I have been eating this non-stop since I chilled it. It is great as a chilled pineapple soup on a hot day :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
the citrus was too strong for my likes. however, i used the rest of it as a marinade for tofu! just fry up the tofu in a skillet, cover with the "soup" and bake at 350 for 15 minutes and broil for 10 minutes. much improved! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I thought this was tastey, but it lacked a lot. Hard to describe, as it had flavor, but was yet somehow still boring... I'll only make this again if I am sick and need a sinus clearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
wow. this soup was awesome. i love the spicy/sweet contradiction, and the acidity level was just right. i used half water and half coconut milk, starting with the milk, and eased up on the cumin. don't be frightened by the tomatoes; they're a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This was interesting. I really liked the idea of all the flavors together and it did smell wonderful, but something about it didn't do it for me. I think a smoother, rather than liquidy result I would have liked better - if I had pureed all the ingredients. It might have been better with a coconut milk base rather than water. I just had leftovers for lunch and it was really delightful - seems like the flavors needed time to come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I was a little leery of adding tomatoes, but I went ahead and did it. This soup is so good! It's a great mixture of sweet and hot and just right. I served it with rice same as I would dal, and I can't wait to make it for Janmastami! Almost effortless and super quick on the stovetop. I think kids would love this recipe as it isn't too hot (though you could add more peppers-I used a jalapeno!) and it mingles with the rice in just the right way. Super!! Haribol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States