Pineapple, Lime, and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Complex flavors. very good. I sliced one boneless skinless chicken breast really thin (stir-fry style). a little oil in pan and I stir-fried chicken and then proceeded with the recipe- used a very large jalapeno as my pepper- did not have fresh limes, so I used 2 tbls. of key lime juice-added extra cilantro (love that stuff)- will make again.. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
My changes to this recipe made it absolutely wonderful. Here's what you should add to your ingredient list: 1 red bell pepper (julienned) 1/2 yellow onion (chopped) 3 cloves of garlic (minced) 1 zucchini (quartered) 1/4 cup coconut milk 1 vegetable bouillon cube instead of the salt that the recipe calls for I also doubled the ginger/pepper/cumin mix (because you need to add more liquids to account for the extra veggies) and I left out the tomatoes. Begin by sauteing the onion and garlic and then add the bell pepper and zucchini--saute for a few minutes. Add 1 cup of water, ginger/pepper/cumin mix, pineapple and veggie bouillon cube--stir and bring to boil. Add half of the coconut milk and bring to a boil again. Add as much more water is desired for your soup--I added another cup, brought it to a boil. Then add the remaining coconut milk. I always taste my food as I go along. For me, it needed more salt so I added a little bit and I like spice so I added a little cayenne pepper. The soup turned out really good and I would highly recommend my version! I can't imagine this soup without the veggies--it seems it would be a bit boring. Enjoy my Thai inspired version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I'm sorry this had absolutely no flavor. In the end I doubled the pineapple and added 1 can of coconut milk. Thank fully I did not add the cilantro which would have really killed the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Easy, Yes. I'm not sure how this recipe is anyone's idea of delicious, tho'. I followed the recipe but left out the cilantro and tomato. When it was done, at first taste, tasted like chunky hot salad dressing. Then following some recommendations, I added 1/2 can lite coconut milk and about 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut. Better, but still not good. The I added 1/2 can of Amy's cream of tomato soup and it GREATLY improved, surprisingly! I was going to dump it but now I'll let my family at least try it. You never know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This soup is delicious! I added one maggi chicken stock cube and left out the salt. I also did not add as much lime as the recipe calls for and not as much water. One can add a little coconut milk if one desires, but it's equally good without it. Will definately make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This soup is better when pureed in small (very small) batches. I used less water too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Lerandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandera, Texas, USA
Living In: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I have made this soup about three times and loved it, even though I did it a little different each time. Ive substituted salsa for the tomato, also used tomato soup concentrate, and subbed lemon for lime. I really like this soup, but it does have a lot of really strong flavors. Probably not for unadventurous eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I had this soup once at a restaurant and was so happy to find the recipe. I doubled the chilies and corriander and added chopped green onions and tofu, and used vegetable stock for extra flavour - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
oooooo a challenge. so here's what i did. i put the pepper, pineapple, ginger, cilantro, and lime in the blender. i used coconut milk instead of water and pureed it all. then i warmed the oil in a pot and added the soup; then added two teaspoons roasted red pepper chili paste and two tablespoons peanut butter, and heated until melted. i actually am sick, and had been looking forward to trying this recipe. i'm giving four stars because of all the modifications, but i know i'll make this again. this time i threw in some crab, but next time i'll probably add some tofu. i really agree with all the other reviews -- give this a try and modify to taste. it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This is a little salty but I liked it. It is an easy recipe for when you dont have many ingredients in the cupboard! I served it with rice and I think next time I will add tofu, scallions, and rice noodles. It is an interesting recipe ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States