Pineapple Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
i doubled this recipe and placed in 9 by 13 inch pan. it was excellent. next time, however, i would choose to cover the kugel with foil and remove foil about 10-15 minutes before serving, so that kugel will brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was WONDERFUL! The whole family loved it. The recipe doesn't say crushed pineapple, but the directions mention it. I didn't use the sliced pineapple (forgot it) and nicely decorated the top w/ the cherries. On 1/2 of the kugel, I added raisins (1/2 the family likes raisins, the other half don't). I used a 16 oz can of crushed pineapple and so glad I did- YUMMY! I also used more noodles than the recipe (about 2-3 oz more). I know it's supposed to be a side dish, but I used it as my dessert and it was a smash! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This was a nice lighter version of kugel. I served it at a brunch where there were several kugels. I noticed that this one was gobbled up and everyone finished their portion. I think I will put it in a smaller dish next time. I put foil on for the first thirty minutes but still some of the noodles seemed dry around the edges. A smaller dish may eliminate the dry edges. I left off the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I was looking for a typical (but good!) noodle kugel and this was it! I made it with LIGHT butter and it came out perfectly fine, I'm sure no one would be able to tell the difference. I also added raisins which were a good addition and will add them again next time I make it. I'll probably also try it with egg substitute next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was really good. I used whole wheat egg noodles, 1/3 C. Agave nectar, and a little cornstarch to offset the extra moisture. I didn't expect much, but loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Kugel was really good! Everyone absolutely loved it. However, I did make a couple changes. I needed to make the kugel parve, so I used margarine instead of butter. I thought there was too much liquid in the mixture so I used the whole 12 oz bag of pasta instead of 8oz. I will definately use this recipe again, but next time I will add golden raisins to add texture. Also, I will use pineapple tidbits instead of slices so that it is easier to cut and every piece of kugel has pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was a really nice easy kugel. I left out the cherries and the pineapple rings, and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This has a very low key sugar flavor. I sprinkled it with confectionary sugar to sweeten up the final product, but would probably add 1/4 cup or more of sugar if serving it as a dessert. Beware of overcooking this; I checked it after 40 minutes and it was barely beginning to brown on top. After another 10 minutes it was golden, but also overcooked, meaning the egg was shaggy and the noodles dried out. Next time I will look for the middle to be set, instead of golden. I was not going to add the sliced pineapple on top, but was glad I did, both for appearance and overall taste. I substituted in whole maraschino cherries for the candied cherries and they worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
First kugel I've made or had to eat. My kids loved it. I did add a pinch of salt to balance the sweetness from the pineapple. I'm bringing it to a potluck tomorrow so I hope it goes over well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This has become a passover tradition! My cousin said he cannot live without it for this holiday...great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States