Pineapple Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
If you're looking for something to make similar to the Thai recipes this is not it. It was incredibly bland. After spending an hour in the kitchen making this, I was so disappointed when I sat down to eat it. We eat a lot of Thai and Indian food and this doesn't come close to what I have had in a restaurant. Don't bother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Paulette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Folks, you should really review the base recipe, not the recipe after you've made lots of tasty modifications to it. ;-) The base recipe is very bland, but it's perfect to get started with - adding fresh garlic and ginger is a must. I'd also recommend adding a splash or two of rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
My husband and I thought this was OK, but my picky "if it's not a hotdog I don't want it" kids complained. I added a can of sliced waterchestnuts and sliced bamboo shoots. Next time I'll also add celery and other veggies I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
Sorry, but this is way too bland. Not a "keeper" at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
It came out very tasty--although I added cashews and bean sprouts and didn't end up putting the tofu or the mushrooms. Also I fried some fresh ginger and garlic in the oil before adding everything else, it gave it a more strong flavor. Cooking the rice in the pineapple juice is a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kibbutz Sde Boker, Mehoz Hadarom, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
We thought this had no flavor at all. This recipe needs a LOT more of everything besides rice and pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
I liked this recipe but made one slight modification. I added a little curry powder and I think it really helped make the recipe a little more exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilovecookingsomuch
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
It was pretty bland, but I liked it none the less. Very nice blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a great recipe, for those who feel it's bland try some fresh garlic, ginger, pepper or sriracha sauce....why not add or substitute some shrimp, chicken...maybe some chicken that you fry in shredded coconut, some .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
My favorite recipe on this site!! Even the non vegetarians in my house love this dish aswell. I leave out the eggs and add bean sprouts and water chestnuts. I also added garlic and ginger to the sesame seed oil for the tofu to fry in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States