Pineapple Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
My husband and I thought this was OK, but my picky "if it's not a hotdog I don't want it" kids complained. I added a can of sliced waterchestnuts and sliced bamboo shoots. Next time I'll also add celery and other veggies I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
Sorry, but this is way too bland. Not a "keeper" at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
I really liked this recipe, one of the better tasting fried rice recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
I liked this recipe but made one slight modification. I added a little curry powder and I think it really helped make the recipe a little more exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This recipe is great! For a low cholesterol change, just use egg beaters instead of eggs! I find that if you are using frozen vegetables, draining some water out of the wok/pan helps to keep the dish from getting too soggy or watery. Also, if you enjoy the taste of grilled pinapple, just cook it at very high heat to get that "off the grill" taste without the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Really good with just a couple of adjustments. I added some fresh ginger, a bit more soy sauce, and some sambal oelek(but any chili pepper would be good). Also, I think it could use a little more egg. Definitely making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I reduced the servings to 4. I only used half a cup of rice, the pinneaple juice and enough water to make 1 1/3 cup to cook the rice. I used tamari instead of soy sauce, and added a garlic clove to the vegetables. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Not what I had in mind when I think of pineapple fried rice, the way they make it in Thailand. Something, actually a lot of things, is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
It came out very tasty--although I added cashews and bean sprouts and didn't end up putting the tofu or the mushrooms. Also I fried some fresh ginger and garlic in the oil before adding everything else, it gave it a more strong flavor. Cooking the rice in the pineapple juice is a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kibbutz Sde Boker, Mehoz Hadarom, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was great! I did make some modifications. I took the advice of others and sauteed garlic, green onions, and ginger first. I also added a bit of hoisin sauce when sauteeing the tofu. After I threw in the rice, I generously sprinkled curry powder. I also used water chestnuts for texture since I didn't have carrots on hand. I've never had pineapple fried rice with mushrooms, so maybe it's just my preference so I left those out and used red peppers. I cooked the rice in a rice cooker and I believe the sugar in the juice burned (not a lot, I just didn't use the rice that was burned). I've never had luck making rice in anything but a rice cooker. Is there a way to do it without burning the rice in the pot?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States