Pineapple Fried Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Delicious! I did use shrimp instead of ham, omitted the green onions (used a generous dash of onion powder) and added some oyster sauce. I also used leftover white rice from another meal. Did change the cooking method as per another reviewer's suggestion, cooked pineapple first then added the peas and carrots (had them on hand) with sesame oil. I added the rice and heated through. Made a well in the middle and mixed 1 Tbsp oyster sauce with the soy sauce, onion powder, sugar, pepper, garlic powder, salt, a dash of Chinese Five Spice powder and approximately 2 Tbsp pineapple juice. Mixed thoroughly, pushed to side and cooked shrimp then scrambled the egg. Very yummy, my mom at 3 plates! Next time I'll add some broccoli (to make it a more veggie-ful dish) and maybe some toasted sesame seeds. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I made quite a few changes to this recipe using the suggestions from the reviews and here is what I finally came up with: I cooked the rice in 1 cup water and 1 cup pineapple juice. I added shrimp as well as ham. I used 1/2 tsp minced ginger and a few dashes of chinese 5 spice. Other vegetables that I add are green/red pepper, celery, carrots, zucchini, green beans, beans sprouts, basically whatever I have in the fridge. I made changes to the cooking method: I cut the pineapple into smaller chunks and added them to the wok first in order to brown them properly. Then added the vegetables and lastly, the egg. I also mixed in a bit of pineapple juice to the soy sauce. This is the only fried rice recipe I use now. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is soooo good. I love the tangy sweetness of the pineapple with the saltiness of the ham. This is a main dish for sure because you'll find yourself putting a pile of it on your plate and devouring it. Pretty good for you too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoneTreeCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Just starting to learn how to stir fry and so am making simple dishes and this is definitely one of them. No peas cuz I forgot to buy them, but will be making it again and again and again . . . The flavor combination is so tasty! Our soy sauce is Braggs Liquid Aminos which only enhanced the taste of it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This was delicious, didnt have sesame oil so I used olive oil and used a regular onion. I used a maple flavored ham steak because thats what I had on hand and it gave it even more flavor. I'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Tasted just like the stuff we get @ the restaurant! Used shrimp instead of ham, onions instead of scallions, and added 2 Tbsp oyster sauce and ommitted the salt. Absolutely delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Not bad, but I've had better. The rice is less mushy if it's allowed to cool for about 30 minutes at room temperature instead of being stuck in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great go too recipe! We loved the pineapple in it :0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Just so happened that I had both ham leftovers and very very ripe pineapple that I didn't really want to eat just like that. I liked the taste of the cooked pineapple in this, to make it sweet and salty. Played around with the veggies though, green onions, no peas as I didn't have any, carrots, white onions, cauliflower, broccoli and peppers (we're big on adding lots of veggies!). It was a quick and easy meal, but would not go out of my way to make it again. Boyfriend thought it was a little too tasteless, would need more seasoning, though I don't know what exactly. Maybe pineapple juice. And definitely would add more eggs, that was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Way too salty for me...I will give this recipe another go but will leave out the teaspoon of salt and use 1/8 of the soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States