Pineapple Fried Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Five cloves of garlic is overkill. I would recommend one clove, maybe two if you really like garlic. Also, there is too much extra liquid in the recipe. The texture was too soft right out of the skillet and the leftovers were very mushy, more like oatmeal than quinoa. I'd recommend leaving out the cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I nice spicey rendition to my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coralie
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Boyfriend LOVED it! Asks for it constantly. I've made it several times, but last night I made it with deep fried tofu also and I even loved it. It's a great recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Fabulous! I did decrease the chili oil by 1 Tablespoon to lower the heat, and I don't think it needs that much oil anyway. We are meat eaters, so to make a heartier meal I also pan fry some chopped Mango Chicken Sausage (from Trader Joe's) to add to the mix. Have made it multiple times to rave reviews - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was amazing! However, i think that 3 cups of liquid would be too much, as the normal quinoa ratio is 1:2. So i only used 2c water, used sesame oil b/c i didn't have peanut, used a yellow onion as that's all I had on hand, and didn't have cilantro. Also, didn't add pepper flakes as I thought it was spicy enough. My husband and I loved it and will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Delicious! I added some extra vegetables but I'm sure it would have been very good without them, too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
My guy, who's not yet used to the texture of quinoa LOVED this... Nice flavor, used fresh pineapple. Used sesame oil + canola oil instead of peanut oil. Used garlic chili sauce instead of chili oil as I didn't have it on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This dish is delicious! I went ahead and gave it a try because it required all of the odd-ball ingredients my bare pantry had to offer tonight -- I was prepared for mediocre but wow, am I happy to report that this is fantastic! I had only 2 eggs so I diced up a left-over baked chicken breast, and I added a stalk of celery that needed to be eaten. Heeding previous reviews I didn't used as much soy sauce as called for initially but really, it needed that 1/4 cup; and I added a TBSP of canola oil because I didn't have enough peanut oil. My boyfriend and I are ready to make this again with pork, or shrimp, a little ginger, red bell pepper...you get the idea. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I made two changes to the original recipe to make it a little healthier - 2 eggs or eggbeaters and 1/8 cup soy sauce. I also didn't have chili oil so I used 2 tbsp of peanut oil and added some chili seasoning. The quinoa dish came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Delicious!!! Loved the mix of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitypup

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States