Pineapple Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
The taste is wonderful. I did use canned pineapple and it turned out well. I put it between a recipe on this site - Rave Review Coconut Cake - and it looks fantastic. I will use this on a lot of cakes that I bake that requires a filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Delicious. It reminds me of a custard. I also subsituted strawberries for the pinapple and it turned out great as well. I'm sure you can use just about any fruit, very versitile. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I used this filling for my pineapple filled pineapple buttercream cupcakes. Delish!! I changed the amount of butter to 2 Tablespoons. Also, I used 1 1/2 cups of pineapple and pineapple juice. Be sure to beat the egg & pineapple juice before adding the pineapple pieces. Then add the whole thing to pot. Stir frequently or you'll get strings of egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leemm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
To me, this was a good starting point. The texture is really nice. But the recipe as written is all sweet and not enough tart... really cloying and not a very bright flavor. If I didn't know it was a pineapple filling, I'd have to take a second to figure out the flavor; I imagine that when I use it to fill my cake, the flavor will get kind of "lost" because it's so dull. I added 1 tbsp. lemon juice to the filling, which helped a little. I usually make a pineapple filling with nearly-pureed pineapple, and I think the next time I make this, I'll treat the pineapple this way instead of just chopping it. I'll also cut the sugar in half. And definitely use lemon juice, maybe as much as 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Excellent! I made this the night before, and the next day I mixed it with about 1/2 C fresh whipped cream. I used it for the filling in a Pineapple Chiffon cake. This could be varied with just about any kind of fruit. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is great! I experiment alot so I did a few different things with it as well as preparing it the way it is written!!!! I use it with Naci's Cream Cheese Pound Cake III recipe. I get request for this all the time I think we are all on to something here!!! Thank you sooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen V,LMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
IT WAS GREAT!!! only i used apples instead of pineapple, and apple cider. with just a little cinnamon for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherryberry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This filling came out very good. A bit on the sweet side though. I used canned pineapple and found it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I doubled this last night and when it was done, I put in in a buttered glass dish and made it into a crisp (using the topping from Apple Crisp II). The only change I made was adding only half the amount of juice, because that was all I had. It was really yummy, just a bit too sweet. I will probably add only 1/2 the amount of sugar next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
The recipe was very easy and didn't require a lot of kitchen know how. It was also very tasty and my child's teachers and staff at the school loved the cake that I put the filling between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States