Pineapple Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I used this as a filling for a layered cake and thought it was pretty good but I would have liked it to be a little sweeter. However, my main problem with this was that I couldn't get it to thicken at all so I had to add cornstarch to get it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Wonderful flavor and very easy to make. I used it as filling in a pound cake shaped like a pineapple for my daughters birthday and received great reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Tenino, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
i cut up a whole pineapple and i'm the only one in my family who will eat pineapple - and we live in hawaii...go figure! yes! it's very custard-like and sooo delicious! super simple to make. i beat the egg before adding but basically dumped everything in pot and stirred often. i increased the butter to 2T and didn't have quite enough liquid so i added more pineapple. i also added a teaspoon of vanilla at the end w/the butter. i followed 17sugars advice of making a crisp out of it and have half a batch baking right now in the oven. mmmmm...smells delish! next, am going to use other reviewers idea to make pineapple creamy centers in cupcakes! addition: ok - pineapple crisp came out - excellent! sprayed a disposable pan and made half a recipe w/oatmeal, flour, brown sugar, melted butter, salt and a dash of cinnamon. wanted to post a picture but can't find connector cord to computer :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good it has great taste and is perfect on or in many things. I used in a coconut cake and I also added a little fresh squeezed lemon juice after it thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Luv&Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I used this filling for my pineapple filled pineapple buttercream cupcakes. Delish!! I changed the amount of butter to 2 Tablespoons. Also, I used 1 1/2 cups of pineapple and pineapple juice. Be sure to beat the egg & pineapple juice before adding the pineapple pieces. Then add the whole thing to pot. Stir frequently or you'll get strings of egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leemm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
IT WAS GREAT!!! only i used apples instead of pineapple, and apple cider. with just a little cinnamon for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherryberry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I used canned pineapple instead of fresh. Therefore, I only had 1/4 cup of juice. I added 1/2 cup of mango juice to the pineapple juice and...awesome results! I also added another tablespoon of butter, just because... This filling really dressed up a boxed, butter recipe cake mix that I made as a simple week night dessert. Quick, easy, and tasty! My kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2trips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I doubled this last night and when it was done, I put in in a buttered glass dish and made it into a crisp (using the topping from Apple Crisp II). The only change I made was adding only half the amount of juice, because that was all I had. It was really yummy, just a bit too sweet. I will probably add only 1/2 the amount of sugar next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I have been using this site for many years now, and this is my first review! This recipe was exactly what I was looking for, tasty, easy, perfect! I have had rave reviews from all of my neighbors--Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
The taste is wonderful. I did use canned pineapple and it turned out well. I put it between a recipe on this site - Rave Review Coconut Cake - and it looks fantastic. I will use this on a lot of cakes that I bake that requires a filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States