Pineapple Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Delicious recipe for filling, i´ve modified with fresh coconut also... thanks for share your recipes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Did not use double boiler. Just pot over med low heat. Whisked egg and juice then added pineapple. Stirred that into dry ingredients in pot. Stirred constantly until thick (@15 minutes). Didn't taste right in pot- but used it to fill 2 layer yellow cake. Once frosted and refridgerated- the cake was a hit and the filling was AWESOME!!! So if you don't think it tastes right when you take it off the stove- don't worry! It will be fabulous!! This would be good filling a cake, filling a biscuit or filling a spoon. Might have to make this cake again REAL SOON!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I couldn't get it to thicken up and i was sitting there and stirring forever. not sure how long it was supposed to take. i ended up adding a little cornstarch and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I use canned crushed pineapple, and this recipe produces a custard-y filling so creamy and fruity, it could be dessert by itself! I use it as a filling in coconut cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Really good recipe. But I had to make it twice to get it right. I don't have a double boiler, so I put a smaller pot in a larger pot. The first time, it never got thick enough. Frustrated, I put the mix in the fridge and thought I could just use it as a topping for ice cream. The next day, I tried it again. This time it took FOREVER, but it eventually thickened up. I realized that the first batch never thickened up because the pot never got hot enough. So, I grabbed the previous batch from the fridge and put it in a pot directly on the burner on low. And it actually thickened up quickly! The end result is a wonderful filling. Thanks again for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN369

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Traci...this is amazing - thank you so much for submitting this! I was looking for a filling for a multi-layer carrot cake (not from this site). My husband loved it, and ate a good majority of it straight from the bowl. So tasty. Will use this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I loved it! So easy and tasted so good! (I couldn't stop eating it right out of the bowl!) In a pinch I used a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple (unsweetened) in place of the fresh pineapple and juice. Everything else I kept the same and it turned out perfectly! I'm definitely adding this one to my list! Thank you for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paragould, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
To me, this was a good starting point. The texture is really nice. But the recipe as written is all sweet and not enough tart... really cloying and not a very bright flavor. If I didn't know it was a pineapple filling, I'd have to take a second to figure out the flavor; I imagine that when I use it to fill my cake, the flavor will get kind of "lost" because it's so dull. I added 1 tbsp. lemon juice to the filling, which helped a little. I usually make a pineapple filling with nearly-pureed pineapple, and I think the next time I make this, I'll treat the pineapple this way instead of just chopping it. I'll also cut the sugar in half. And definitely use lemon juice, maybe as much as 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Too much flour--it had paste like texture and flour taste. I had to doctor it up to cut the paste by adding lemon juice, apricot brandy, vanilla and pineapple preserve--so much better! Next time...oops, there won't be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of pineapple filling myself, but I do use this recipe for my clients who want pineapple filling for wedding, birthday, and special occasion cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azeventdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States