Pineapple Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
its a very good filling for layer cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
i used this filling in a gluten free carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. i used gluten free all-purpose flour and substituted mango/peach/orange juice for the pineapple juice because that's all i had. when it thickened, i added lemon juice to taste. after reading the other reviews, i thought that the lemon juice would counter-act any excessive sweetness. i found these substitutions to work very well. no one knew the difference! this is a great base recipe and i will use the other suggestions in the future (i.e. apples, strawberries, etc.). thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I thought this tasted very eggy and not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I used this recipe to fill Tassie cups I made and did not have enough pecan filling. I used unsweeten pipeapple in the can crushed already, the big can. It was wonderful and worked well. Next time I make it I will try it with Splendra to help cut calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I haven't made this but I want to try it! I have a question though. I am planning to make my sisters wedding cake and am looking for the perfect filling. The problem is, the cake will be covered with fondant, and therefore won't be refrigerated. I am wondering if this filling will spoil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My hubby and toddler loved this filling inside of a plain yellow cake. It was easy to make, and I substituted fresh pineapple and juice for 1 canned crushed pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Good cake filling. Makes enough to fill 2 8" cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This recipe was very good! I also added about 1/2 brick of cream cheese and thought that it gave it an even better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
very yummy! I used this recipe to fill some turnovers and they were soooo good too. I didnt have a double broiler (one of those things I say I'm always goona buy...) anyway, I put it all in a small pot on low heat and it cooked fine for me. I hadnt enough pineapple juice, so I added a little lemon juice which was nice. And for the finale on blunders...I filled my turnovers, and went to get an egg to brush the tops of them and remembered that this recipe called for 1 egg. I was through with myself, but I said nothing and no one complained that something was missing and the taste was really great. Will use this again, next time with the egg included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I used this as a filling for a layered cake and thought it was pretty good but I would have liked it to be a little sweeter. However, my main problem with this was that I couldn't get it to thicken at all so I had to add cornstarch to get it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States