Pineapple Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I increased the sour cream to 1/2 cup. I used 1 c. of a Mexican cheese mixture in the pineapple/sour cream mix which added a kick. I planned to follow AGENTLUCY's recommendations until I realized that I had a 15 oz. not 10 oz. can of enchilada sauce. However, I still added 1/2 cup of pineapple juice to the sauce and cooked it on the stove. I loved the hint of pineapple to the sauce. I ended up with 4 fat enchiladas as well. Before covering with the dish with foil, I sprayed the foil so the cheese wouldn't stick (I also sprayed the dish before adding the sauce too.) In the end, I broiled the enchilada for a few minutes to brown the cheese. If you like plain cheese enchiladas, you will like this recipe however, if you prefer a hearty enchilada you should add chicken or rice to the mixture. WILL DEFINIETLY MAKE THIS ONE AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I have been meaning to try this recipe for quite some time now. I added a shredded chicken breast to the pineapple mixture. I like my food with a bit of spice, so I added one red chili. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. Yummy! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I just had to try this recipe because the combination in the name struck me as so weird. I hate to cook and am terrible at it, and use this website to find recipes that are quick and easy. This was about as easy as it gets, and the results are fabulous! I followed the advice of others -- used more enchilada sauce, used chopped green chiles, doubled the sour cream, and I also used 1/2 cup of cottage cheese. The combo of sweet and spicy is really good. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this. I made a lot of changes however. I added chicken and about 3/4 cups of sour cream (I really like sour cream). I also used white cheddar cheese instead of regular. Someone suggested using rice, and I also think that would make a wonderful addition. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
These are so yummy and quick to make! I've made this about 5 times now, and I have found that adding a bit of cinnamon, chile powder, and a pinch of suger really brings out the flavor of the pinneaple. The cinnamon sounds weird, but it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
easy recipe... I mixed in rice with the pineapple, and omitted the sour cream, but we just did not like the flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Alright, I actually enjoyed these! I love pineapple in food, but i am still not sure how i feel about spicy pineapple. Though, I found with all the cheese I added (I added extra.) it was quite filling. I also added a mexican blend cheese in addition to the cheddar. The only problem I had with it was that I did use hot enchilada sauce, and it was a little too spicy for me. Otherwise, as long as your enchiladas are even, the presentation is very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I love pineapple and I love mexican food especially enchiladas. Being from Texas enchiladas aren't good with fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Indian Harbour Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I love pineapple so I was very excited about this recipe. It was good, just a little too mushy and gooey for me. I couldn't get past the texture of the food - the taste though wasn't bad. Not sure I would make it again though unless I tweaked it a little. Also, spray the bottom of the pan or add more sauce as mine ended up sticking badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Definately not what I thought they were going to be. We love pineapple on our pizza but this gave an entirely different flavor. Won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hooligan77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States