Pineapple Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
WOW! The kids thought I was crazy when I told them we we're having Pineaple Enchiladas for dinner. The flavors of the enchilada sauce and pineapple together is wonderful. Based on other reviews I did add chicken and diced green chile. It turned out great and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I used Old ElPaso enchilada sauce, I don't know if that was the problem or not, but this was so horrible I couldn't eat it. I felt the texture was disgusting. Sorry! I love pineapple on pizza but this didn't come close at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigglebox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I'm looking forward to trying this recipe again the way it was originally listed. When I made it I added chicken and canned green chilies. When I tried the mixture, I thought it tasted overly sweet, so I added cumin and cilantro as well. When we ate the enchiladas, it turns out that I completely killed the taste of the pineapple and they tasted like my regular chicken echilada recipe! On the brightside, I found these to be less filling! Can't wait to give it another try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Agree with those who added some chili powder to spice it up. Also added extra green enchilada sauce with some chili verde sauce, and some shredded chicken. It's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Wow! So good. Didn't sound like it would be that great, but it sure was. I'm always amused when people say they prepared it exactly according to the recipe, but then proceed to list MANY things they did to change it, add to it, etc. Well, I'm guilty of that, but to a lesser degree. I drained the can of pineapple a bit. And just added to the filling a few cut up Trappey jalapenos (about 6-7 slices) and a little bit of leftover diced cooked chicken(about a 1/4 of a chicken breast). I can assure you though, if you follow the recipe exactly, you'll love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is a very kid-friendly meal, but adults will love it too! I actually added some tomato sauce to the enchilada sauce to cut down the spice, as another viewer had suggested. I also added a package of frozen spinach (thawed and drained) and used twice as much sour cream. It was fantastic! Next time I will make double, so I can freeze it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Nolletti Pierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I increased the sour cream to 1/2 cup. I used 1 c. of a Mexican cheese mixture in the pineapple/sour cream mix which added a kick. I planned to follow AGENTLUCY's recommendations until I realized that I had a 15 oz. not 10 oz. can of enchilada sauce. However, I still added 1/2 cup of pineapple juice to the sauce and cooked it on the stove. I loved the hint of pineapple to the sauce. I ended up with 4 fat enchiladas as well. Before covering with the dish with foil, I sprayed the foil so the cheese wouldn't stick (I also sprayed the dish before adding the sauce too.) In the end, I broiled the enchilada for a few minutes to brown the cheese. If you like plain cheese enchiladas, you will like this recipe however, if you prefer a hearty enchilada you should add chicken or rice to the mixture. WILL DEFINIETLY MAKE THIS ONE AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I have been meaning to try this recipe for quite some time now. I added a shredded chicken breast to the pineapple mixture. I like my food with a bit of spice, so I added one red chili. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. Yummy! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I just had to try this recipe because the combination in the name struck me as so weird. I hate to cook and am terrible at it, and use this website to find recipes that are quick and easy. This was about as easy as it gets, and the results are fabulous! I followed the advice of others -- used more enchilada sauce, used chopped green chiles, doubled the sour cream, and I also used 1/2 cup of cottage cheese. The combo of sweet and spicy is really good. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States