Pineapple Curry Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Yummy and super easy to make!!! I only had 1 1/2 c. of pineapple juice on hand but I added 1/4 c. of water and the pineapple flavor was still there!!! Next time I'll add a little more curry since DH and I love curry!!! Our 1 year old even loved this rice!!! Mild and sweet with a great flavor. And the fact I can make it all in one pot is a plus....less dishes to clean up!!!! Thanks so much Kat for posting this recipe...we'll definately have it again soon!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
My husband and I loved this rice! Wow! I used 1 cup juice and 1 cup water for 1 cup of Jasmine rice. I also omitted the celery salt and add dash regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
a little too spicy for my two young kids but I thought it was great - gave me some other ideas for more rice dishes - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I made a few minor changes to this recipe. I used canned pineapple. I cooked the rice in the juice with the seasoning but then to finish it off I added the pineapple and a can of rinsed kidney beans. I also cheated by using instant rice. Its was really good though both I and my fiancee loved it. I even took the leftovers for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I thought this was great, however my boyfriend def. prefers the fatting version, he did not think this was anything to write home about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This has a good flavor and the curry powder gives it a nice "kick". We prepared this with pineapple juice and brown sugar marinated porkchops and it was a nice compliment. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
It was pretty good considering the trouble I went through to get it cooked. It definetly needed more liquid. I suggest 1/2 pineapple & 1/2 water. I will definetly make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yadkinville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This didn't come out quite a good as it sounded. I served it with Peanut Butter Noodles (recipe also found on this site), and that saved it somewhat, but by itself it was not great. The pineapple flavour was pretty much lost to all the curry, and the rice came out crunchy and had to be cooked longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I was short on the juice with only about one cup, so I added a cup of water to make a two-one ration. I also upped the cooking time to about 20 minutes. The rice came out cooked to perfection. I must say that, as curry lovers, my husband and I found this to have a bit too much curry. I will make it again but reduce the curry by at least half. For those of you who have a problem with rice sticking to the pan, make sure you reduce heat to as low as possible. If you still have problems, coat your pan with a tad of vegi oil, though in this recipe, the butter should help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I think the problem with this recipe as written is using pure pineapple juice as the liquid. Looking at other reviews, those who used some water had better results, and googling using fruit juice to cook rice shows recipes that use half juice, half water for the liquid. I used my electric rice maker to make this recipe and used as much juice as the amount of water recommended in the manual. My rice came out crunchy, for the first time in over 4 years of regularly making rice this way. I liked the flavor (I subbed regular salt for celery salt), so I'll try again, but using half juice, half water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States