Pineapple Curry Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
There is normally a two-to-one ratio of liquid to rice, and normally rice is simmered for 20 minutes. I knew this before I tried the recipe, but decided to trust the recipe for some reason. Bad idea! After 10 minutes, most of the liquid was gone, the rice was far from being done, and the rice was sticking to the bottom of the pan and beginning to burn. I had to add more water (didn't have any more pineapple juice) and simmer rice until it was done. I didn't care for the flavor, but by the time I went to eat it, I was thoroughly disgusted with the recipe for having the incorrect liquid-to-rice ratio and incorrect simmering time, and disappointed in myself for following the recipe and not my own instincts, and this may have tainted my judgment of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Yummy and super easy to make!!! I only had 1 1/2 c. of pineapple juice on hand but I added 1/4 c. of water and the pineapple flavor was still there!!! Next time I'll add a little more curry since DH and I love curry!!! Our 1 year old even loved this rice!!! Mild and sweet with a great flavor. And the fact I can make it all in one pot is a plus....less dishes to clean up!!!! Thanks so much Kat for posting this recipe...we'll definately have it again soon!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I had great hopes for this recipe, in spite of the mixed reviews. I generally have no problem with rice, in fact I have a reputation for making perfect rice everytime. Not this time, though. I knew that 10 minutes would not be long enough to cook the rice, so I cooked it for the traditional 20 minutes. When I removed the pan lid, I found the hard rice all stuck to the bottom of the pan, and the pineapple juice bubbling merrily away on the top. I hurriedly scraped the bottom of the pan, and the rice wasn't burnt, just a bit toasty, so I covered the pan and cooked it for another 10 minutes. By that time, the rice had absorbed most of the juice, but it was blown-out and gluey. I didn't care for the flavors either. Between this recipe and another unsuccessful recipe from this site, dinner last night was a disaster. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I was short on the juice with only about one cup, so I added a cup of water to make a two-one ration. I also upped the cooking time to about 20 minutes. The rice came out cooked to perfection. I must say that, as curry lovers, my husband and I found this to have a bit too much curry. I will make it again but reduce the curry by at least half. For those of you who have a problem with rice sticking to the pan, make sure you reduce heat to as low as possible. If you still have problems, coat your pan with a tad of vegi oil, though in this recipe, the butter should help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
a little too spicy for my two young kids but I thought it was great - gave me some other ideas for more rice dishes - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
My husband and I loved this rice! Wow! I used 1 cup juice and 1 cup water for 1 cup of Jasmine rice. I also omitted the celery salt and add dash regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
It came out pretty dry even after adjusting the liquids to 2 cups and covering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLYVIVE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Although I was searching for a recipe for rice cooked in pineapple juice, this turned out not to be what I was looking for. My family did not care for this dish. I believe it was the celery salt that did it. My husband thought it had a "pickle" flavor. Also, I only used about 1/2 tsp of curry, as I didn't want it to overpower the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This has a good flavor and the curry powder gives it a nice "kick". We prepared this with pineapple juice and brown sugar marinated porkchops and it was a nice compliment. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States