Pineapple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
While my boys love the older type with plain crust...their wives prefer this recipe because of the cornstarch texture and grahamcracker crust and whipped cream topping so this receipe at least works here in the Pacific NW. However I couldn't cook the reciepe with cornstarch with the older family in Texas so I have to go back to the older way of doing it. My family is famous for their pineapple cream pie..but we make it with plain prebaked piecrust.. and we don't add eggs to first mixture... only AFTER the cream mixture thickens. We then remove from heat, temper the lightly beatten eggs before adding. Once eggs mixed well...we add butter and vanilla or whatever flavoring you use and beat till shiny. . (My great grandma used flour instead of cornstarch and got a more old-time texture that holds up well if you want to refrig and then slighly warm. Also the flour type holds up better if left out under the table cloth of the holdiay table for the later supper. Since they were dirt farmers...corn-starch was not always available and flour made pies held up well to being able to set out in cupbords, less weeping or watery separation if you use meringue instead of whipped cream. Anyone remember the way southern country folks tended to have their dining rooms unheated...then after sunday dinner after church...all left overs dishes and desserts are left on the table and covered with a clean bleached table cloth and left till supper?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I don't know what I did, but this turned out terribly--it was bitter and the filling never solidified; it was like a pudding. A very not-good pudding. Perhaps I screwed up . . . it looked like a wonderful recipe. I loathe the loss of a whole fresh pineapple, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Excellent!! This one's a keeper. The filling sort of reminds me of a pineapple pudding. Consider preparing two crusts, however, because there's way too much filling for just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Not as hard as it looks and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMATTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. When I made it the first time I had to much filling for a 9 inch deep dish pie shell, so I used only 2 cups of milk instead of 3 like the recipe calls for, and I added 1/2 cup of coconut. Now this is the most wonderful pie, and just the right amount for the deep dish pie shell. I have made it many times, and each time someone new tries it, they just love it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Great flavor combination of the whipped cream, crust and pineapple cream. I had never heard of a pineapple cream pie before but love pineapple. Foolishly I didn't drain the pineapple so the pie was a little runny by my mistake, but still tasted great. I will definately make this again and next time will remember the drain the pineapple. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This pie was good but far from great. Very filling and very sweet. I probably won't make it again. Also, I had to add much more powdered sugar than recipe said, but this could be due to using a wisk instead of beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I thought this was an award winning recipe?? It tasted like cool whip mixed with pineapple in a graham cracker crust - my guests weren't impressed and neither was I. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
Found this pie on the bland side. (I am a pineapple lover). I will add 1/2 cup of the pineapple juice and decrease the milk by 1/2 cup for my next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
best tasting pineapple cream pie i have ever had. First time making the dessert also. Very easy to make and delicious to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States