Pineapple Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Tasted good, but way too greasy! I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have shortening so used butter which seemed fine. As well, I cut the brown sugar in half for the batter and later sprinkled a handful of it on top before baking. Yum! I also used about a cup and a half of pineapple and a half a cup of the juice. Then used 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of flaked coconut to help thicken the batter because of the extra fluid. I substituted vanilla extract for the rum. Lol it sounds like I didn't follow the recipe at all but I think the essence of it was retained. Will definitely keep making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I made these in mini cup cake pans. I didn't have shortening so I used butter instead. Also had 20 oz can of crushed pineapple & used the entire can (squeeze juice out really good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I made this for a Luau party and it was a big hit. I did not change anything. I thought they didn't look very appealing because they were hard to cut cleanly because of the coconut and moistness. They didn't look horrible but not as presentable as I like my dishes. Looks aside, everyone said "those are really yummy" after the 1st bite and there were none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Just okay. Nothing special. Won't do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was good, but left out the coconut and put in walnuts, after I took it out of the oven I drizzled some icing on top that i made with powdered sugar, milk and vanilla it was almost like an upside down pineapple cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Don't give a recipe a bad review when you jack it up with your own substitutions!!! I have made this several times as written and they turn out great with requests for the recipe ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
really good. I added extra pineapple to make them even chewier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I'm attending a tropical-themed party and decided to try this recipe as a take-along. Very disappointed in the texture and the overall flavor. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Very good and I will no doubt make this again...I served it with vanilla ice cream, rum sauce, and chopped nuts...next time I will add nuts to the cake batter...macadamia or pecans...Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States