Pineapple Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I live in Costa Rica and fresh pineapples are everywhere. I used 2 cups of fresh pineapple and 1/2 the butter and it turned out wonderful. I took the advice from some of the other reviewers and created my own self rising flour although it still didn't rise that much. Which was fine we ended up eating it as an ice cream topper and everyone loved it. The flavors were sweet & tart at the same time. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Only had crushed pineapple, so used that. Also didn't have any self rising flour, but found a sub on internet by adding baking powder & salt to flour, so that's what I used. Very good, but next time would probably 1/2 the butter, everything seemed to be swimming in it. Good easy recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I used crushed pineapple other than that I followed the recipe to a "T". I made 2 pans for a carry in today. There was a lot of desserts there. I didn't take any home. Rave reviews from all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe and very easy. I made several changes - halved the butter (based on other reviewers' recommendations), halved the sugar (due to personal preference), and replaced the milk with half buttermilk and half lemon yoghurt (all I had in the house). Oh and I used salted butter. The edges were lovely and golden and crispy, while the centre was soft and chewy! Would be good with other fruits, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I have used this 1/1/1/1 recipe for peach cobbler since I was about 6 or 8 years old (42 now!), but never would have thought about using is for Pineapple Upside-down Cake. What a great idea! I had some pineapple and cherries left from Christmas ham and needed to get them out of the fridge, so was looking for a recipe. I followed this closley but made a couple of adjustments: Used 1 cup of brown sugar and combined it with the melted butter in the pan. Then I laid-out cherries and pineapple as for 'regular' upside-down cake. Then I poured the batter on top and baked as directed. Turned-out just right and tastes very good. Thanks for the helpful recipe. For those that had trouble: This particluar recipe, while easy, is very sensitive to pan-size and oven temp. Time and temp MUST be adjusted if the pan is different than 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
definately a keeper. i've been trying out ar recipies on company.when they ou & ah & empty the dish i know its good.my company and i love this one.they all want the recipe , so i tell them , GO TO ALLRECIPIES.COM...that saves me from writing out the recipe.five stars are for taste and so easily made. after reading the reviews i had to edit this ..many said too much butter, batter runny,and had to hide it under ice cream..i didn't change a thing a thing.sure the butter was runney around the batter, but it baked into the cake and gave it the flavor. my batter was NOT runny , in fact it was pretty much like other cobbler dough.presentation was beautiful.i can't say enough words to describe how great this is.i'd give it more stars if i could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deer Lake, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This recipe is just the one I had been looking for! A friend of mine made cherry, apple, peach, etc. cobble with this mixture minus the brown sugar. It is easy and absolutley delicious. I was looking for a cherry recipe so used 2 cans of cherry pie filling and left out the brown sugar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe is so simple and comes out perfect everytime. I add a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the batter for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnbrbr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this recipe looking for a way to use pineapple in a dessert. This cobbler is sooo good :-). I did like some other users and used only half the amount of butter. Also, to cut down on the sweetness, I don't use the recommended amount of brown sugar, nor do I use the cherries. I just sprinkle a little brown sugar before and after I drop the pineapples in. It still came out a little sweet so I will reduce the sugar next time. I also make this in a smaller dish (9x9) so that it's a little thicker/fluffier. This cobbler is perfect with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. The whole family loves it so it's a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstanfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I enjoyed this recipe - very easy to half it, too! I omitted the cherries simply because I didn't have any on hand. However, I'm with some reviewers about the butter; less is highly recommended! I put in what would've been 1/4 cup (since I made a half recipe, used 1/8 cup), and it was perfect. Count this Southern cook as a fan of Pineapple Cobbler now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juststardust

Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Blackberry Cobbler II

Watch how to make this easy dessert.

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States