Pineapple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
i played around quite a bit with this. I started off with the basic recipe, then added soy sauce, garlic, brown sugar in different amounts until it was a thicker consistency and tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
my boyfriend and i really enjoy this easy meal. i use all the ingrediants except just 1 cup of water and cube my chicken. i use flour to brown it also. i add frozen broccoli, soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic salt. and serve it with jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Edible but would not make again. It was really watery and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I only had three breasts so I adjusted the recipe. I had a 20 oz can of pineapple so I used 3/4 of that can and substituted 1 cup pineapple juice for the 2 cups water--and used only 2 tbsp of the onion soup mixture. In reading about the blandness, I sprinkled the chicken with garlic powder and black pepper as well. I also chunked up my chicken to speed up the cooking time. At the end I added a flour/water mixture to thicken it up and glaze everything. The result was two very full children and a very happy husband! Thanks for a great quick weeknight meal! Next time I will use a little more water and serve the sauce over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was a hit at our place! I didn't have onion soup mix on hand, so I just used a tablespoon or so of onion gravy granules. I mixed the sauce in a separate bowl and let it simmer to thicken before I added it to my chicken. Then I poured it over and let it cook just a bit to mix the flavors. I also added a clove of chopped garlic. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristin
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I really enjoyed this dish. Very simple and very flavorful. I loved the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Artesia, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Very Very Good!!I followed the other reviewers suggestions and this is what I came up with. I used 1 can of pinapple juice, 2 heaping tablespoons of brown sugar, and a few dashes of 50% sodium soy sauce, I brought that to a boil in a sauce pan, then simmered untill it thickend. I seasoned my chicken with grillmates monterey chicken, lightly browned it in a skillet. then transfered to baking dish, added the pineapple chunks and basted it with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I had to add some soy sauce to add some color and was tempted to add brown sugar but decided not to. I also used the pineapple juice and water to get to the 2 cups. I think that helped with the flavor. It was nice to try but not sure I'll be doing in again unless I revamp it a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Odd combination, but it is quite good. Next time I would use less onion soup mix because it seemed to overpower the pineapple. If I make it again, I will be making the suggested adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldanelis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shuniah, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Nice flavor, golden brown chicken. I didn't use oranges and they were not missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States