Pineapple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Easily made and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I tweeked this recipe by adding some worcestershire sauce,red bell pepper and a little salt and pepper. Instead of browning the chicken in the skillet I just slid it all in the oven, simple. You can do a lot with recipe it is very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I found this recipe to be okay. I did have to change it up a bit though. First, I cut up the chicken into bites. Second, I found out at the last minute that I didnt have dry onion soup mix.. im sure it would have tasted better that way. I seasoned my chicken with salt, pepper, onion & garlic powder. I also cut up a green pepper and added it to the simmering mix. Per reviews, I saved the pineapple juice from the can which equaled almost one cup. I added half a cup of water to that and put it in the skillet. Also, I mixed in some low sodium soy sauce. Lastly, I used manadarin oranges. I served this over brown rice. The sauce wasn't thick and I didnt have corn starch to thicken. I basically created an entire new recipe but still used this as my base and cooking times. This was an easy recipe, but the chicken was bland, even with the spices that i added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Not a family favorite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Horrible! By frying the chicken in the pan until its done, then bringing it to a boil after you add the pineapple, you are cooking it TWICE. Any cook/chef knows that will produce a tough meat. The chicken is like chewing leather!! Marinate it in the pineapple first---but DON'T boil your chicken after you add the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Easy and fast to put together with easy on hand ingredients. Was a bit disappointed the citrus "zing" I hoped would jump out at me didn't--so be ready for that, should you follow per directions. Other reviewers offer up some really ingenious tasty zip up ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mfitzpatrick
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I also did some changes from the original recipe. I added soy sauce and used the juice from the pineapples then added brown sugar and flour to thicken the sauce. It was real good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfitzpatrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I had some left over fresh pineapple, so I used that. My husband loved this. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Great starter recipe. I had only 2 whole breasts and 4 thighs. I followed some of the other suggestions, cut down on the water and used the juice from the can of pineapple. I eliminated the dry onion soup because that would be too salty for such a small amount of chicken. I used 1/4 c. chopped onion instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Excellent! I didn't have onion soup mix so I used what I had miso soup mix and it work very well. I used reviewers suggestions and added T soy sauce and T of brown sugar. I also add a T of four to my chicken and stir fried it with Seasame oil with garlic and onion for about 5 mins (its just my preference -I like browning my "meats"). The poured the liquid (I used the juice from the pineapple which was about 1/2 C -that was enough because I use 3 skinless boneless thighs (again just a preference; i prefer dark meat) and simmer for 20 mins. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States