Pineapple Chicken Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joy Underwood
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
I just want to thank everyone for the comments on this recipe. I have enjoyed reading your reviews, and so glad to hear that each meal was a success. It's one of my favorite dishes to fix. And, by the way, you can use whatever parts of the chicken you wish, the editor of this site is the one that put chicken breasts on there. I usually use leg quarters. But it depends on whose eating it, as to what I use (some people prefer white meat to dark). You might could even venture to try other types of meat such as pork or beef. If anyone tries it and likes it, please let me know. Happy eating! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Underwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
this was awesome!! i added onions and i used yukon potatoes instead of red. i sliced them extra thin so they would definitely finish cooking. this really was great..so great my boyfriend went back for THIRDS!! he ate until he felt sick!! if i can offer one tip...PLEASE LINE your baking dish with foil!! i made this 3 days ago and i'm still soaking my pan!!! it's worth it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
EXCELLENT! I was attracted to this recipe by the combination of ingredients and the EASY prep! Talk about simple to put together (it took all of 10 minutes) and exceptional results! The aroma while baking in the oven was wonderful! I was a little leary of putting sliced potatoes in the dish, but when served they were a nice compliment and I wouldn't skip adding them! The chicken was noticeably tender and cut with a fork - not sure if it was just fresh chicken or the pineapple juice which made the difference. I'm so glad I tried this recipe! YOU SHOULD TOO! You won't be disappointed! Nice presentation! I did used diced pineapple instead of sliced and put them on top of the chicken rather than on the side with the potatoes. I used Bulls-Eye Honey Mustard BBQ sauce. My husband couldn't stop complimenting this dish! Thanks ladies for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I decided to try this recipe based on my pal KOALAGIRL's recommendation, and I'm so glad I did!!!! I have to concur with her review. AWESOME! Yes, line your pan with foil, slice those 'taters as thin as you can and IMHO, double up on the amount of pineapple juice or all you're going to taste is chicken in BBQ sauce.I've made this twice in two weeks and the hubby and kids are still licking their lips. This "easy-pleasey" recipe's going into our rotation for sure. Thanks Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
10 STARS! This is awesome! I used chicken thighs instead of chicken breast, but otherwise followed the recipe accordingly. Baked at 375 degrees for one hour. Even though I lined my baking pan with foil, it still leaked and I see 3 days of soaking ahead. But who cares! This dinner was absolutely wonderful -- causal company worthy! I served with mashed potatoes because we had no red taters. Homey, comfort food! You have got to try this one, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
WOW!!! This is one of the easiest and most delicious recipes I've ever tried. As others mentioned, it smells wonderful while cooking. I used brown sugar BBQ sauce and I didn't have any red potatoes, so I threw in a package of frozen mixed baby potatoes and other veggies, and it turned out much better than I expected. The chicken was very moist and just peeled apart. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Hanau, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was great! The juices from the pineapple and the bbq sauce really kept the chicken moist. I thought the temp and time were too high and too long so I lowered both and I wish I had just listened to the recipe. I kept turning up the temp and I left it in for over an hour! Thanks for the great recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I read a variety of reviews before trying this recipe, and I've made a few modifications myself as well. I've made it three times now, once for a dinner party, and it has been very well received every time. I add a bit of soy sauce, Worcestershire, and white vinegar to the sauce, and reduced the pineapple juice. I add the vegetables only for the last 15 minutes of baking because they could, indeed, be soggy and overcooked if they sat in the sauce for the whole hour. Oh, and I marinate the chicken in the sauce for 24 hours before cooking. In any case, my family and friends and I LOVE this recipe! It's easy and delicious; I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
My family really enjoyed this dish. I was a little nervous about combining all of the pineapple, potatoes, bell peppers and bbq sauce. I didnt think it sounded to good but after I read the reviews I decided to give it a shot. I thought it was very flavorful and I loved how the chicken turned out so tender and moist. The pineapple and the bbq sauce gave it just the right... ZING! My family and I agreed that we didnt care to much for the potatoes being cooked along with the other ingredients. So, next time I am going to serve the chicken over mashed potatoes as one reviewer had already mentioned. You could also serve it over rice if you want. I also thought that I might marinate the chicken in the pineapple sauce for a little while. It just added such a good favor to the chicken the first time. I think marinating it longer would make it even better. The cooking time was perfect. I took the advice of other reviewers and lined my pan with tin foil. But, before I did that I also sprayed the pan with cooking spray..BOY AM I GLAD I DID! It still leaked through the foil some, but because I had sprayed the pan previous the clean up was no big deal. If you are looking for a dish that is different and pretty darn tasty then give this one a try. I will be adding this to my recipe box for sure. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I will make this again, pretty tasty! I used chunk pineapple and probably would have added more than one can as I really liked the pineapple flavor. You definitely need to bake/parboil your potatoes. I microwaved mine a little thinking they would finish cooking with the rest of the ingredients but they were hard as a rock... we put them back in the oven for at least another hour. Hubby loved it, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Artichoke Chicken

Baked chicken with a cheesy, creamy sauce and artichoke hearts.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States