Pineapple Chicken Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
The veggies were great, but the chicken didn't absorb much flavor even though I marinated it in juice and sauce as recommended. Also, I sliced the potatoes thin, but still seemed to overcook the chicken before the potatoes were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
My family really enjoyed this dish. I was a little nervous about combining all of the pineapple, potatoes, bell peppers and bbq sauce. I didnt think it sounded to good but after I read the reviews I decided to give it a shot. I thought it was very flavorful and I loved how the chicken turned out so tender and moist. The pineapple and the bbq sauce gave it just the right... ZING! My family and I agreed that we didnt care to much for the potatoes being cooked along with the other ingredients. So, next time I am going to serve the chicken over mashed potatoes as one reviewer had already mentioned. You could also serve it over rice if you want. I also thought that I might marinate the chicken in the pineapple sauce for a little while. It just added such a good favor to the chicken the first time. I think marinating it longer would make it even better. The cooking time was perfect. I took the advice of other reviewers and lined my pan with tin foil. But, before I did that I also sprayed the pan with cooking spray..BOY AM I GLAD I DID! It still leaked through the foil some, but because I had sprayed the pan previous the clean up was no big deal. If you are looking for a dish that is different and pretty darn tasty then give this one a try. I will be adding this to my recipe box for sure. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
IF I COULD GIVE THIS 10 STARS I WOULD. AS THE KIDS SAY, OMG...THE BEST MEAL I HAVE MADE/EATEN IN AGES, & I'M AN AVID/EXPERT COOK! MY HUSBAND, WHO NEVER LIKES SWEET WITH SAVORY, PROBABLY COULD HAVE EATEN IT ALL...& I USED 8 SKINNED THOUGH BONE IN THIGHS [OUR FAVORITE]. I'M A LITTLE EMBARASSED TO ADMIT WE FINISHED IT ALL! SOOOOOOOOOO GOOD, REAL SOUTHERN COOKED COMFORT FOOD!!! JUST A NOTE: WE DON'T CARE FOR PEPPERS, & I HAD SEVERAL SHALLOTS, SO I PUT THEM IN. ALSO, LIKE OTHERS, THE THINLY SLICED POTATOES WEREN'T FULLY COOKED, SO I PUT THE LID ON FOR THE LAST HALF HOUR OF COOKING....TOTALLING 1-1/2HR. COOKING TIME [SINCE I USED DARK MEAT, & DOUBLED THE AMOUNT]. I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW THE SAUCE THICKENED AS WELL. APPARENTLY THE WORDS WRITTEN ON MY KITCHEN WALL ARE TRUE....COOKING IS LOVE MADE VISABLE! THANK-YOU JOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added onion and carrots to mine and it was just excellent. My husband really enjoyed it. He's not into carrots and peppers but he really liked them in this dish. It was so simple to make and I will definately be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
it was very easy, and the hint about lining the baking dish was incredibly helpful, but this dish was too sweet for my taste. i would've liked a little more flavor to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBLUE7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I decided to try this recipe based on my pal KOALAGIRL's recommendation, and I'm so glad I did!!!! I have to concur with her review. AWESOME! Yes, line your pan with foil, slice those 'taters as thin as you can and IMHO, double up on the amount of pineapple juice or all you're going to taste is chicken in BBQ sauce.I've made this twice in two weeks and the hubby and kids are still licking their lips. This "easy-pleasey" recipe's going into our rotation for sure. Thanks Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
10 STARS! This is awesome! I used chicken thighs instead of chicken breast, but otherwise followed the recipe accordingly. Baked at 375 degrees for one hour. Even though I lined my baking pan with foil, it still leaked and I see 3 days of soaking ahead. But who cares! This dinner was absolutely wonderful -- causal company worthy! I served with mashed potatoes because we had no red taters. Homey, comfort food! You have got to try this one, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was great! The juices from the pineapple and the bbq sauce really kept the chicken moist. I thought the temp and time were too high and too long so I lowered both and I wish I had just listened to the recipe. I kept turning up the temp and I left it in for over an hour! Thanks for the great recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
AWESOME!! We make this meal at least once every two weeks. The combo between the BBQ sauce, pineapple and pepper is fantatic. We did up the amount of peppers, potatoes and pineapple in the mix. Use two cans of pineapple for the juice, may not use all the pineapple. Great over white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Great easy recipe.....throw together and it's done. My type of recipe. Oh yes, the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States