Pineapple Cheesecake Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is delicious! That being said, there is one flaw in this recipe; corn starch should be used for thickening in the topping instead of flour, probably about 2 TBSP would work. There is a flour taste to the topping and it doesn't have the smooth, pleasing texture it should have. I followed the recipe except used a whole cup of whipped cream in the topping. I will definitely make this again, using corn starch as the thickening agent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
A very good summer time recipe. I don't understand the ones that bought another can of pineapple juice or used orange juice--there is plenty of juice from the draining of the can of pineapple. I agree with using cornstarch to thicken and the toasted coconut on top. I used crushed Nilla cookies instead of flour in the crust and used coconut instead of almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathieMT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I have been making this recipe for years now. It is great, takes a little time but its worth it! Make it in the evening for the next day. It tastes very fresh and fruity - great in the summer too! You can also use margarine and chopped almonds or no almonds at all. Sometimes I also use only 1 pck. regular cream cheese and 1 pck. low fat. But this cake is worth every calorie in it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Have made this recipe for two groups and was asked for the recipe many times. However, the only thing I had a problem with was the extra pineapple juice in the cream cheese. Seemed a shame to buy a whole bottle of pineapple juice just for 2/3 cup. Would definitly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Instead of buying pineapple juice I just used orange juice in the cream cheese layer. It worked wonderfully. This dessert was great - took it to a church pitch-in and they raved. Make it the day before and let it set overnight before serving. I am not a huge pineapple fan, but I even enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Another WOW! from my family. This was so easy. Yes, it is a few steps, but who's counting. I used whole graham crackers placed on the bottom of a 9x13 pan. They made a wonderful crust without the fuss. I will definitely be making this dessert again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This recipe is delicious! I made it the first time for a summer baby shower, and the light, fruity taste was a perfect treat in the hot weather! Everyone loved it, and there were only crumbs left behind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was really good. I ended up doubling the topping recipe, so there was more pineapple. And I did use cornstarch instead of flour in the topping. Had a girls get together and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Yum, I didn't make bars but combined this recipe with the Pineapple Cheesecake recipe to make it more like a pie. Used a pre-maide crust and it was delicious!!! Used 3 8oz cream cheese packages for a 9 oz grahamcracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
The filling and the topping were both excellent, but I found the crust to be too thick and floury-tasting. I will make this again, but will probably try a graham cracker crust with a layer of sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States