Pineapple Cheesecake Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is delicious! That being said, there is one flaw in this recipe; corn starch should be used for thickening in the topping instead of flour, probably about 2 TBSP would work. There is a flour taste to the topping and it doesn't have the smooth, pleasing texture it should have. I followed the recipe except used a whole cup of whipped cream in the topping. I will definitely make this again, using corn starch as the thickening agent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
A very good summer time recipe. I don't understand the ones that bought another can of pineapple juice or used orange juice--there is plenty of juice from the draining of the can of pineapple. I agree with using cornstarch to thicken and the toasted coconut on top. I used crushed Nilla cookies instead of flour in the crust and used coconut instead of almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathieMT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I have been making this recipe for years now. It is great, takes a little time but its worth it! Make it in the evening for the next day. It tastes very fresh and fruity - great in the summer too! You can also use margarine and chopped almonds or no almonds at all. Sometimes I also use only 1 pck. regular cream cheese and 1 pck. low fat. But this cake is worth every calorie in it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Have made this recipe for two groups and was asked for the recipe many times. However, the only thing I had a problem with was the extra pineapple juice in the cream cheese. Seemed a shame to buy a whole bottle of pineapple juice just for 2/3 cup. Would definitly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Instead of buying pineapple juice I just used orange juice in the cream cheese layer. It worked wonderfully. This dessert was great - took it to a church pitch-in and they raved. Make it the day before and let it set overnight before serving. I am not a huge pineapple fan, but I even enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Another WOW! from my family. This was so easy. Yes, it is a few steps, but who's counting. I used whole graham crackers placed on the bottom of a 9x13 pan. They made a wonderful crust without the fuss. I will definitely be making this dessert again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This recipe is delicious! I made it the first time for a summer baby shower, and the light, fruity taste was a perfect treat in the hot weather! Everyone loved it, and there were only crumbs left behind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was really good. I ended up doubling the topping recipe, so there was more pineapple. And I did use cornstarch instead of flour in the topping. Had a girls get together and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Yum, I didn't make bars but combined this recipe with the Pineapple Cheesecake recipe to make it more like a pie. Used a pre-maide crust and it was delicious!!! Used 3 8oz cream cheese packages for a 9 oz grahamcracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
The filling and the topping were both excellent, but I found the crust to be too thick and floury-tasting. I will make this again, but will probably try a graham cracker crust with a layer of sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States