Pineapple Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I loved it! I originally tried this dish when one of my friends from South Carolina's mother made it. I found this recipe and made it for an office potluck! My colleagues were a little skeptical of the dish based on the title, however, they tried and loved it! I've received several requests for the recipe and I am making it for a cookout today. TIP 1: Make sure you drain the pineapple and THEN only add 8 tbsp of the remaining juice. TIP2: It tastes better with only 3/4 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
FANTASTIC! Reduced the pineapple juice to 1/4c. Used 1 can crushed - with juice and 2 cans tidbits, drained (save 1/4c. for mixing in). Everyone LOVED it. Warning: Very Addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Excellent. This is the same recipe that my Granny has been making for about 15 years now. The biggest thing to note is that IF you are using pineapples in heavy syrup then of course you don't need extra sugar (as some reviews has said, because heavy syrup is sugar). If you use pineapples in their own juice with no added sugar then you can safely add the sugar. Also I made this recipe gluten free by changing some of the ingredients to gluten free ingredients and it came out just great. You can buy gluten free crackers and use gluten free flour in place of the gluten filled ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This was a really tasty side dish. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar and that was plenty. Also I like to use pineapple tidbits better than chunks since they are smaller and make the flavors and textures mesh better. I drained my pineapple out of the can and reserved the juice for later uses, also I did not add the 8 tablespoons of juice since the pineapple were still very juicey. I think the extra 8 tablespoons would have made this casserole too mushy for many tastebuds (including mine.) Thanks for this recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I had a friend bring this to our Thanksgiving potluck at work and asked her for the recipe. She emailed me this page! I followed the directions for the most part except I doubled it and used 1/2 crushed pineapple and 1/2 pineapple chunks. I also used less sugar, 3/4 cup per instead of a whole cup. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I have eaten a lot of delicious food in my day but this surprising treat was addicting. I couldn't stop eating it! I had it instead of mashed potatoes, I had it instead of dessert, it was truly one of the most amazing things I have ever eaten. I can't wait to try a low-fat version of it, with Splenda and low-calorie butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
i cut the sugar in half and still thought it was too sweet, next time i'll try it with no added sugar, i think the pineapple is sweet enough on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I have tired several different recipes for the pineapple casserole but this one is by far the best and easiest. My family loves it with ham and also as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is the hugest hit at pot-lucks! I actually got this recipe a few years ago, and it was really wonderful! I got it from Paula Deen, but it's been around for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
The flavours were very nice but it was far, far too sweet. It was like a pudding, I served it up but noone could eat more than a spoonful. I might try it without the sugar entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States