Pineapple Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Turned out really well. My boyfriend doesn't do pineapple, but he didn't realize what it was until after I told him. Surprisingly tasty & went well w/ pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisieyo1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miles City, Montana, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I thought I had reviewed this, but couldn't find it, so doing it for sure this time! The first time I made this I didn't have any crackers, and didn't find this out until I had gotten started on the recipe. Instead, I put some unsalted mini pretzels that were sitting on the shelf in my blender and mashed them up. That was the only difference that time. The 2nd time I substituted the cheddar cheese with Velveeta shreds and used the butter crackers. We all, me, hubby and 14 yr old son, liked it better with the Velveeta and didn't like the butter crackers. So now, I use Velveeta and unsalted pretzels on the top. Everyone loves it! The crackers were the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Thanksgiving 2010 was the first time I'd ever cooked or eaten this recipe. I'd tasted something similar at a Thanksgiving potluck last week, but we did not care for this. So, you've got this sickeningly sweet pineapple-y thing with butter and crackers (SALTY!) on top. So country. So Southern. So fattening. So greasy. So sweet. I'll never make this again. I'll do an informative, step-by-step review: First off, there are no 15-oz cans of pineapple at the grocery store. Only 20-oz and I believe 8-oz. Mixing: At first, it sounded way too sugary and dry. Somehow, those 8 Tbsp of pineapple juice really thin down the dry ingredients though. It's more runny than pancake batter. I added the pineapple and cheese & poured it into a buttered 9x13 pan. Didn't have any problems with it sticking. Topping: By "buttery round crackers", I assumed they meant Ritz. The crust was absolutely disgusting and did NOT taste like it was supposed to go on this sickeningly sweet casserole. It was more of a vegetable or chicken casserole topping. And that's WAY too much butter. The only reason for the 2-stars is because I like pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
something different...did a trial of it tonight before I use it for Thanksgiving.....sounds crazy but it's actually really good! the family liked it a lot...I didn't think they would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
pretty good. better than having just pineapple with your ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
We have this every time we visit Amelia Island, FL. There's a funky restaurant right on the beach that serves this as one of their side dishes. Each serving is in an individual foil ramekin, and we're so nuts about it that if 2 side dishes come with the entree we make them both this casserole! I was thrilled to get the recipe here. Such a great resource this is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Pineapple Cheese Casserole is so delish! I only gave this recipe 4 stars, however, because I cut the sugar in half. Also, I think I will cut back a little on the flour next time, as it seemed a little gummier than I thought it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonnaNaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I made the dish as directed with one minor change: I melted the butter and then mixed the crackers with the butter and layered on top of the dish...Came out great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLESF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Ok, so I opened a #10 can of pineapple yesterday to make a lime cottage cheese jello dish for St. Patrick's Day and I had lots of pineapple left over. Today I went searching for a recipe to use the pineapple and found this one. I was skeptical because of the cheese, but the ratings were too good to ignore, so I thought "why not". I went searching for Ritz crackers and couldn't find any, so I decided to use saltine crackers despite the fact that no one else had posted saying they had tried substituted them. I have to say that I can't stop eating this. I've already eaten about a third of whole dish myself! Who knew pineapple and cheese would go so well together! Yum! Next time I will have to try the Ritz crackers cause everyone knows how yummy they are. Oh... I melted the butter and mixed them in with the crushed saltine crackers before topping them over the dish. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Delicious and easy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginahoward70

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mize, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States