Pineapple Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
We've used a similar recipe in our family during the holidays for years. Substituting some red peppers will add more color. As mentioned, about 1 tsp seasoning salt is a must. If you don't want to use nuts, but still want additional texture, try adding 1/2 to 1 cup grated cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I have made this cheeseball twice. It always gets great reviews by those who eat it. I recommend NOT draining the heck out of the pineapple though. It loses a lot of flavor that way. It is a little wet/runny right after you make it, but after sitting in the fridge for a few hours or overnight it's just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This recipe if not done right, becomes a dip instead of a ball. Drain the pineapple really well and also used CRUSHED pineapple like it calls for. I accidentally got pineapple chunks, thought it would be ok, so I whipped with a mixer the cream cheese and pineapple together and it came out too wet, and then I just decided to use it as a dip, but adding all the ingredients, even the crushed pecans and people still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I have a very similar recipe that always gets rave reviews. With mine, you leave out the celery, use red instead of green bell pepper, and 2 or 3 chopped green onions instead of minced onion plus a tsp. or so of season salt. One way to make it thicker is to grind an additional cup of pecans (I use my blender) and stir that into the cheese ball before shaping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
This is the best cheeseball ever! I always add a splash of Worstershire to give it a subtle sweet and salty flavor. It's definitely addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did make one mistake which i believe was not draining the pineapple thoroughly. The mixture was very creamy. I could not form it into a ball until i stuck it in the refigerator for 4 hours. It never really set up they way it should have so i put it on a platter and formed it into a rectangle. I then covered it with the pecans. I'm anxious to make this again. I will drain the pineapple with a strainer:) For sure a keeper even if it never sets up right for me. The taste is wonderful:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Wonderful cheeseball, was a hit at the pot luck. Definately let it sit for a while to allow the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I got this recipe from my grandmother over 30 years ago, and I still make it. Have tried many cheese balls over the years and this is still my favorite! But what's with the picture? It does not look like it's rolled in chopped pecans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
Disappointing. Flavor was bland, took me more like 25 to 35 minutes to prepare rather than 5 and I cut the recipe in half but the size ball I ended up with was much larger than a "tennis ball".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Delicious! Make sure it's refridgerated overnight for the best flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States