Pineapple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Very good but definately use 1/2 cup sugar or else it tastes like a cake. For a lighter version you could also drop down to 3/4 cup of cheese, it still tastes super. Would be a really nice addition to a brunch and also tastes good cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
I have tried a recipe exactly like this one, only instead of Saltines I used Ritz crackers. Definitely makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Very easy BUT VERY SWEET. Less than 1/2 the sugar would be enough. No wonder a kid will eat it. It was practically a dessert, not a side dish in my opinion at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I made this to go with our Easter ham. It got about a 50-50 favorable to unfavorable response at the table. I liked it and thought it made a good side dish especially since my ham wasn't glazed with anything sweet. The only change I made was to add an extra tablespoon of flour to the sugar (I was worried it would come out watery) and I used crushed Club crackers for topping since I had some stale ones in the cupboard. I cut each of the pineapple chunks in half becuase it seemed as though there wasn't much to go around, I think the size called "tidbits" instead of "chunks" would have been the best way to go. I liked the sweet/savory combination of the pineapple and the cheese/cracker topping. I do think I could have cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was good served with ham and the people at the dinner table who had a sweet tooth really liked it. I think crushed pineapple for the entire dish might have worked out better. I wasn't crazy about the big chunks. I halved the sugar and the sweetness was just right. Any more sugar would have been cloying. I substituted Ritz crackers for the saltines and they were good in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFLINK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
A great recipe for a ham dinner. I actually thought it was better the next day! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This was tasty using only 1/2 cup of sugar. It will be served often at my house! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is one of my all-time favorites, dating back to my childhood. My mother always made it with cheese crackers (Better Cheddars) instead of the Ritz crackers for an extra cheesey crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Fantastic Tasting Casserole That Even the Most Finicky Eaters Will Enjoy. Makes a Nice Alternative for Those Who Do Not Like Cranberry Sauce. It is a Breeze to Make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This was so good! Subbed ritz crackers for saltines. This is definitely more like a dessert than a side dish. I believe that 3/4 cup sugar is more than enough. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States