Pineapple Casserole Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
My first attempt was a huge success, even though I forgot to drain the crushed pineapple. The result may have been a bit moist, but the flavour was so good it didn't detract. It was very sweet, and cutting back the sugar may be worth a try. Hubby didn't think the cheddar cheese topping was a good fit, and the cheese may not be necessary for a successful dessert. The dish was too sweet for a side dish in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
We love this recipe at my house! I don't use the cheese and we use whatever whole wheat bread we happen to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I did make a few changes to it. The first was that I used pineapple tidbits instead of crushed because I was out of crushed pineapple. I also added some cinnamon to the whipped butter sugar mixture. I thought that the cinnamon really added to the recipe. Also if you are like me you may be questioning the cheddar cheese. I tried it with the cheese and it was delicious. It cuts some of the sweet and gives it a great flavor. Trust me you are not going to be tasting a strong cheese flavor. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was fantastic! I used it as a side dish, but could have used it as dessert for sure! I used cinnamon butter for half of the butter called for. That really made it sweet and yummy! I would totally do it again. I would most certainly make it again, and I would use the cinnamon butter again too. :-) The whole family feasted on this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet7th
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I thought the cheddar cheese seemed out of place but it's perfect. Added the perfect salty counterpoint to an otherwise sweet dish. I think I'd cut back a bit on sugar next time. I served it as a side to a ham dinner but even as a dessert, it was sweet. I think I might take it to a covered dish supper as something different that people would like. Good one, sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Everyone loved this dish at our Easter dinner - even the teenagers! Great recipe, it is yummy with ham and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Excellent recipe! I did not have pineapple so instead I used canned peaches and added a handful of raisins! IT WAS DELICIOUS! I made this and took it to the office for our weekly "treats day" and it was all gone inside of 15 minutes! Even people who normally eat small portions of sweet were having second and third helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Wow this is WONDERFUL ! I loved it so did everyone who tried it. I'll be making it for my granddaughters communion party in two weeks and I'll be expecting the accolades I got yesterday at our Mother's day table. Thank for this ..its so terrific and easy easy easy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
cut down on sugar add bread cubes before adding pineapple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was great! My husband very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States