Pineapple Casserole Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
We just moved to Alabama and heard of this dish. This is the first recipe we tried and we really enjoyed it. It works well as a side dish for ham, turkey or fried chicken. We recommend that you add the bread cubes to the egg mixture before adding the pineapple. This will reduce the amount of curdling that occurs from the acid in the pineapple and will result in a creamier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 440DartRacer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Montevallo, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
instead of using shredded cheddar cheese a good substitute would be stewed fruits whether stewed pineapple, apple, plum, mangoes. more than nine slices of bread can be used as this makes the casserole more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
My 15 year old son made this exactly as the recipe says. I was very skeptical because I'm not a fan of bread pudding - but it is delicious! Very tasty - 5 stars from the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drofrub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
It is very easy and tasty. I used to hate pineapples. Every time I ate pizza I always take out the pineapples. Now after eating this... I love pineapples so much. You don't even need to put cheese on top... it is delicious with and without cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
My family serves this alongside pork chops or thick slices of ham. I substitute half the butter for 8oz of cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Wow, this is great & can be used as other reviewers advised--a dessert or a side dish. Picky guest even liked it. Today I found a can of peach tidbits & can't wait to try them because I love peaches, too. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Excellent recipe! I did not have pineapple so instead I used canned peaches and added a handful of raisins! IT WAS DELICIOUS! I made this and took it to the office for our weekly "treats day" and it was all gone inside of 15 minutes! Even people who normally eat small portions of sweet were having second and third helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Wow this is WONDERFUL ! I loved it so did everyone who tried it. I'll be making it for my granddaughters communion party in two weeks and I'll be expecting the accolades I got yesterday at our Mother's day table. Thank for this ..its so terrific and easy easy easy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I have made this three times this month already! My son was home from college and I packed him some goodies, including some of this dessert. He called me specifically to tell me how good this was. I do cut back on the sugar and butter some, cuz it just seems like so much. I also tried a baguette of french bread as another reviewer suggested. Delicious! I have not tried it with the cheese as it just doesn't seem to need it. This is a treat for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
cut down on sugar add bread cubes before adding pineapple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States