Pineapple Casserole Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Big hit! I used a baguette for the bread, cut the sugar down some, used cinnamon with the butter and sugar and cooked for an additional 10 minutes. We chose no cheese. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was quite good. I used fresh pineapple, pulse in the food processor a couple of times and I drained off and drank a bit more of the juice than I probably should have. It needs a bit of juice to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
My first attempt was a huge success, even though I forgot to drain the crushed pineapple. I haven't tried draining the pineapple in my subsequent attempts. It was very sweet, but my subsequent attempts at the recipe to cut back the sugar were not as good. The dish is too sweet for a side dish in our family. Hubby didn't think the cheddar cheese topping was a good fit, and the cheese may not be necessary for a successful dessert. I have tried using up some whole grain bread that was getting a little stale, and it was good, but we enjoy the results better when I use a fresh heavy white bread. The cinnamon is a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
We love this recipe at my house! I don't use the cheese and we use whatever whole wheat bread we happen to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I did make a few changes to it. The first was that I used pineapple tidbits instead of crushed because I was out of crushed pineapple. I also added some cinnamon to the whipped butter sugar mixture. I thought that the cinnamon really added to the recipe. Also if you are like me you may be questioning the cheddar cheese. I tried it with the cheese and it was delicious. It cuts some of the sweet and gives it a great flavor. Trust me you are not going to be tasting a strong cheese flavor. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was fantastic! I used it as a side dish, but could have used it as dessert for sure! I used cinnamon butter for half of the butter called for. That really made it sweet and yummy! I would totally do it again. I would most certainly make it again, and I would use the cinnamon butter again too. :-) The whole family feasted on this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet7th
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I thought the cheddar cheese seemed out of place but it's perfect. Added the perfect salty counterpoint to an otherwise sweet dish. I think I'd cut back a bit on sugar next time. I served it as a side to a ham dinner but even as a dessert, it was sweet. I think I might take it to a covered dish supper as something different that people would like. Good one, sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Everyone loved this dish at our Easter dinner - even the teenagers! Great recipe, it is yummy with ham and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Excellent recipe! I did not have pineapple so instead I used canned peaches and added a handful of raisins! IT WAS DELICIOUS! I made this and took it to the office for our weekly "treats day" and it was all gone inside of 15 minutes! Even people who normally eat small portions of sweet were having second and third helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Wow this is WONDERFUL ! I loved it so did everyone who tried it. I'll be making it for my granddaughters communion party in two weeks and I'll be expecting the accolades I got yesterday at our Mother's day table. Thank for this ..its so terrific and easy easy easy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States