Pineapple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
After reading the reviews, I decided to buy a pineaple box cake mix. I followed the directions to make the cake (3 eggs and 1 can crushed pineapple with juice)but decided to make a pineapple upside down cake. I put 1/2 stick melted butter and 3/4 cup brown sugar in the 9x13 pan then placed 2-8 oz cans of drained pineapple tidbits (didn't have rings) and lots of marashino cherries. Then poured the batter on top. It baked at 350 close to 50 minutes or so...I kept baking til the center raised as high as the sides...it came out as moist as can be for all the baking...and has that extra pineapple taste, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Wonderful cake! Light and very, very moist! The crumbly texture did not both us; my husband and I consumed the whole cake in 2 days. Thanks, Sharon, for this delicious, EASY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I thought this cake was good. I used a regular cake mix and added a can of mandrian oranges. I also used a bundt cake pan, and had to cook for at least 45 min. The cake was very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I was looking for a easy pineapple cake and this was it. I did not have 20 ounce can, I add it small can of tropical fruit mix. I will definetly make it again. Next time all the batter may make it into pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Like someone else did, I give this 4 stars because it's not extra special, but still a very easy, tasty recipe. I couldn't find a "reduced fat" boxed cake mix, but I did make the cake without the oil that the cake-box recipe uses, so hopefully I achieved the same results, more or less. This was super easy to make, and very moist. I appreciated that it wasn't too sweet. Since I'm single, this whole cake lasted me about 5 days, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This cake is really tasty and very, very moist. So much so that I had to make it twice. Because the first time, I made two layers (for a birthday cake) and they crumbled apart out of the pans!!! :D The second time, I used the 13x9 inch pan suggested to a much better result. Will definitely make again. I gave the recipe 4 stars due to the pan constraint. The cake itself is worthy of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This recipe was extra simple and delicious. I even left it in the oven too long and it was still moist and tasty. I made it in a bundt pan and topped it with a little powdered sugar glaze and it was very pretty. Try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILAPPLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
If you like pineapple upside down cake you'll like this. It tastes the same to me. I took it for a potluck and there was no leftovers. My husband and daughter didn't even get to try it. I made it again a couple days later for them and it lasted only a day. This will be one of my new favorites. If I ever want a pineapple upside down cake and don't have a lot of time this is what I'll make for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Our whole family loved this! I am only giving it 4 stars because it wasn't anything extra special, but still a very good recipe. I had an orange cake mix, so I used that and the added flavor was terrific. I also added a small can of mandarine oranges and a tablespoon of milk. I used an egg substitute of whites only to keep the cholesterol down for my husband. We topped the warm cake with whipped cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States