Pineapple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This recipe was amazing! I made it with the following changes: generously buttered the 9x13 pan and sprinkled 1/4 cup brown sugar over the bottom. Topped brown sugar with sliced pineapple and scattered blueberries over the slices. Topped with the cake mix/pineapple mixture to which I added some ground flax seed meal for texture and moisture. Baked around 40 minutes and the resulting cake needed no frosting at all. The sliced fruit and berries added all the color and flavor one could hope for. This would be great with any fruit on the bottom, fabulous flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I changed this recipe but for the better!!! I used white cake, 3 eggs, and raspberries!! I added 1/2 cup raspberries to the batter. I made a frosting out of 4 oz cream cheese, 4 oz crushed pineapple, (dryed with a paper towel, no juice)1/2 cup butter, 2 cups of powdered sugar and 1 tsp vanilla extract, but it wasn't very stiff. I decorated the cake with raspberries. I think I will use this recipe over and over again with diffrent fruits!! Blueberries, peaches, strawberries....the possibilities are endless!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
very delicious and moist. i used pineapple cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Not surprisingly this cake has a custardy taste. I topped with crushed pecans and baked. The easy part is exactly right. Good cake, just not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I've made this for years using reg. yellow cakemix. It's very good. Top with cream cheese icing! People love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Matlock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
A very simple cake to make, and it is very moist and tasty. I used a pineapple cake mix. I was pleasantly surprised that it was not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I read other reviews and so I added a carton of fruitcake fruits and about 1 cup of chopped walnuts. It was moist, delicious and so different and easy. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
For the real pineapple lovers, try this with Duncan Hines' Pineapple Supreme cake mix! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Everyone in our house loves pineapple upside down cake, but I don't always have time to make one. This super easy recipe was a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This was goof for a snack cake however the texture and flavor were not what I had expected. I followed the recipe exactly - however I added a powdered sugar glaze on top (powdered sugar, water and pineapple exract.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States