Pineapple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My husband loved this bread! I add 1 whole can (20 oz) of crushed pineapple with juice along with 1 small box of French vanilla instant pudding and cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup. Soo Yummy...mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I followed the ingredients list, and the directions exactly, and had no problems whatsoever. A beautiful quick bread loaf. Why do people refuse to follow the recipe as written and then give it a bad rating? It makes no sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I liked the flavor but it was a little dry. I added coconut too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgleason

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I am cooking it right now and was wondering what the smoking in my kitchen was. I thought it looked a little high for 1 loaf pan, and of course it is now pouring out onto the oven. Try it with either 2 pans or 1 pan and a couple muffins. I will update once I get to taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Good recipe, with some tweaks: I upped the pineapple to 1 1/2 cups (I used fresh and chopped/crushed myself) Instead of 1/2 C walnuts, used 1 Cup of pecans Added 1 1/2 tablespoons of Saigon Cinnamon (Saigon is sweeter/ has less bite) (I also used no cholesterol egg substitute and Smart Balance instead of butter) Comes out much darker than the recipe pic, closed to a banana bread. An excellent breakfast bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
make sure you use a 9x5 pan and not an 8x4 or it spills over (I made that mistake once). Anyway, I thought that this recipe was lovely. It smells good, tastes good, easy to make. We make it all the time. Since I firmly believe that people should rate the recipe that is posted and not the recipe that they came up with FROM the recipe that is posted: I think it deserves 5 stars as written. I think it comes out a little better with our personal touches though: coconut oil in place of the butter, 3/4 cup sugar, omit the nuts (gross!) and stir in one un-drained can of pineapple tid bits. This is a great recipe, thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
What a disaster. Followed the recipe as written, and the whole thing bubbled up over the loaf pan to the point of starting a fire in the oven. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Delicious bread. Just cut back a little on the sugar. This bread stayed moist for as long as it lasted. Great with cream cheese. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was delicious! I added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg to the recipe and it was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I give this 4 stars, more for its potential.... although I think I figured out the problem! Previous reviewers seemed to either rave about this bread, or say WOW! too much baking powder. Baking powder reacts differently depending on the acidity of the fruit it is used with. Pineapple is an acidic fruit; FRESH pineapple is much more acidic than CANNED pineapple. I'm going to guess that those who thought the recipe is great as written used FRESH pineapple. My experience is with CANNED pineapple, and I DEFINITELY had to use LESS baking powder!! After 2 tries, I discovered that 1 tsp. baking powder was the perfect amount. I also like more fruit & texture to my bread, so I used a 20oz. can of crushed pineapple with the juice (1 cup crushed pineapple + 1 cup pineapple juice did not add enough flavor), and 1 cup coconut. Also followed another reviewer's suggestion to sprinkle 2-3 tbsp. brown sugar on top of bread before baking. Delicious this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States