Pineapple Bread Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Alaena39
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I had made this recipe a long time ago and made it again recently for my husband to try. I love it because, like someone already mentioned...super cheap. Also, its great for getting rid of items. You know how most people don't eat the ends of a loaf of bread? Use those! Or the ones in the bag that aren't as soft as you'd like for your sandwich. Then, I use canned pineapple often but I don't alway use it all up so this is a great way to use it as well. I use custard cups for that reason as well...don't usually make a lot so I don't have a pan small enough and they're already pre-portioned for me and look so darn cute. Also, I love how its typically ingredients you always have on hand. I think the proportions are fine except on the sugar! I forgot how sugary they were. I will definitely cut back on the white and brown sugar next time, but even with that, its still got so many things going for it that it should get all 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Finally found this recipe online that is the same as one that's been our family's favorite with ham for many years. It's great! Ours didn't use the brown sugar on top, but I'll try it that way today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This turned out great. I made it exactly as written except used an 8x8 pan. I did not think it was too buttery or too sweet. It is just perfect. You could definitely use this as a side dish or a dessert. It was done in exactly 45 min. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I must have done something very wrong with this recipe. I thought it was just terrible. I did use fresh pineapple. Maybe that was the difference. I tried quite a few things to salvage the ingredients, but it just didn't work. I love bread/fruit combos and thought this would be great. I just ended up with a mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
delicous. it was too buttery, but next time i make it i will make it this way anyway cause i think it is a recipe for holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jketron8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This really is a delicious dish and you will definitely please your guests. I have to say, the first time I made it, I followed the directions and while it tasted really good, it looked a little flat. The next time I made it I used 6 eggs, instead of 4 and 7 slices of bread instead of 5. It was perfect. NO leftovers! It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by squarepear
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
WOW! This was awesome! Very sweet and rich. Added 1/4 c of the juice because I put my bread on a cookie rack overnight and they turned into croutons - whoops! Used 6 slices of cheap white bread. Baked just perfect at 45 min. Will DEF do again!!! Update: just made this again for the 2nd time and used margarine (all I had on hand) and it was not as good as the first time with butter!!! Use butter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squarepear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingalls, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This turned out very well in spite of me messing up a bit! I used a larger pan than needed so it was pretty thin but I realised my mistake when it was still baking so took it out sooner. I used splenda in place of sugar and the splenda brown sugar mix for the top. A good dish when you want to serve something out of the ordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
A nice way to use up old bread and a very ecomonical dessert. While I give it full marks for creative and thrifty; I think it could use a little less butter. Mine I felt came out a little greasy and I am a big girl who is not afraid of butter but I felt it overwhelmed the pineapple and I could not taste the fruitiness but special thanks to the very creative cook who dreamed up this easy, fast and cheap dessert! Thanks it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Great recipe, a little too sweet for me, I would reduce the sugar a bit. Only had diced pineapple on hand, blended it a bit with the mixer. Overall it was yummmy and gone the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liljessyboop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States