Pineapple Bacon Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Awesome - I'll never make a plain burger again. I followed the tips from others, making sure I didn't add too much BBQ sauce, and cooking bacon separate. I served these to 25 people at a Texas BBQ and people loved them, even though it was gilled, not BBQ'd (picky Texans!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
These are fun,easy and different.We LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sable H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I really like this recipe and my kids don’t want any other kind of burger now. I have found that if you grill indirectly as called for you do not need to turn these at all, so the bacon coming loose is not a problem. In fact if you spray the grill with non stick spray before you cook they are problem free. Just cook them till the pineapple starts to get a little brown on top, add the cheese till it melts and remove. Those who think the burger is mushy may want to cut the BBQ sauce to ¼ cup. If the burgers are firm when you form them they will not get mushy when you cook them. Add the BBQ sauce a little at a time and stop while you still have firm patties. I used a KC style sauce and had great luck. I have also found that you can get the same flavor by just adding a touch of bacon grease to the burger as you mix it up. This does not give the nice effect of biting through the bacon, but for those who have trouble chewing the bacon this is a nice alteration. Also crushed pineapple works very well if you don’t have sliced. And last but not least, I recently grilled a meatloaf based on this recipe and the family loved it. I left out the pineapple and cheese. Just adding the BBQ sauce to the burger with bread crumbs as a binder and grilled it indirectly for about 1.5 hours with charcoal. It was wonderful! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
My husband, who has never used a recipe in his life and avoids cooking at all costs, found this and made it the day after I had wrist surgery. (He knew to come here since I rave about Allrecipes and Recipezaar.) It was AWESOME! I tried to stay out of the kitchen but did peak in a couple of times. He arranged the bacon perfectly on the burgers. Made fresh burgers instead of his normal frozen ones. He even cut it into smaller pieces so I could eat it with one hand. What a guy. My 17 year old son just requested them as his birthday dinner! Now that is a compliment. Thanks for a great recipe and giving my husband the confidence he needed when it comes to cooking. If he can do this, anyone can. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe and I've done some very similar for several years. Cooking the bacon and pineapple rings separately is a much simpler method and doesn't leave you with the task of hunting toothpicks before you eat them. One comment said the grease kept threatening to put out the fire... if you use indirect heat this wont be an issue. This simply means the food is not placed directly over the coals. once the coals are ready for cooking, you can push them to the outside of the grill leaving the middle open. This gives you heat on all surrounding sides but no flames to jump up on the food. put down an aluminum pie plate in the middle or foil and it will catch the drippings and keep your grill a little cleaner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Pretty good, but nothing special. May try again on the outdoor grill when spring comes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Very good!... I did cook mine under the broiler though!... I sauted some mushrooms and onions. I also mixed some teriyaki sauce and some of the pinaple juice, simmered until the juice cooked down a bit. We used crumbled bacon on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
The best burger I've ever had. Use fresh pineapple and grill it seperate from the burger! We had company over and they couldn't stop raving about these burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
very tasty! the only issue i had was it stick to the grill and the burgers fell apart and would not hold together. I even tried adding an egg the 2nd time around and it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
You can't beat a good burger with a pineapple slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States