Pineapple Angel Food Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This has long been my stand-by for a quick DELICIOUS dessert! One word of caution, though, you absolutely canNOT use a 2-envelope angel food cake mix with success, it must be a one envelope mix. Also, I've always used a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple not 8 oz. It can be baked in a 9x13 or bunt pan. When taken out of oven if you can allow to cool upside down, it is best, just as you would a normal angel food. Top with whipped cream, or frost the whole cake with it. I only frost the cake with whipped cream if I don't expect any leftovers, and top with moist flaky coconut. Thanks for posting this, and reminding busy people what a really special cake this is, and so quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I thought this was delicious! I made as directed except for the addition of 1 cup of flaked coconut, as some reviewers have suggested, and topped with homemade whipped cream and diced strawberries. It was like a fancified strawberry shortcake! One little oopsie though, one reviewer suggested that any angle food cake needs to be cooled upside down. I suggest that you do not try this with a cake baked in a 9x13 pan or it will end up on the counter like mine did! haha! no matter! It was still wonderful and we all had a good laugh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made this twice both times it came out very heavy . The 2nd time I added coconut and it tasted a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
It was flat as a pancake,it was so dry didnt have any flavor, and yes I followed the directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I made this recipe for a family get together. I made it without the vanilla. Everyone loved it and it was gone quickly. We served it with Orange/Pineapple ice cream. I will definitely make this again and may even try a different canned fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
The flavor was really good although the middle fell once I took it out of the oven so it didn't look very nice(I wondered if it was because I didn't invert the 9 x 13 pan like you are supposed to with a traditional angel food cake? Any one know if you are supposed to do this?). Next time I think I am going to put the pineapple and juice through a food processor as the crushed pineapple I bought was still a bit chunky for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NatalieC
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I cannot believe how simple this was to make! After seeing some of the comments on this recipe, I was weary making it but it looked so easy I went ahead anyway. I;m glad I did! It is so tasty and sweet. I also added pineapple rings on top just before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatalieC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
So simple and so delicious! I may add some chopped pecans next time I make it, but it is perfect as written. A friend said you can substitute a can of blueberry pie filling for the pineapple. I plan to try that for my husband who loves blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I have been making this for several years. I make a frosting with canned pineapple, instant pudding and whipped topping. I also substitute other canned fruits. Always a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I made this gluten free using the kinnikinnick angel food cake mix. It was so easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States