Pineapple Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Super easy recipe!! At first, I wasn't sure if I was to add the pineapple (w/ juice) to the cake batter AND THEN, add the 1 1/4 cup of water that the box had recommended. Directions didn't exactly say whether to continue to follow the box for the rest of the recipe. Anyways, no water is needed. Just the pineapple with the juice, which comes to an equivalent of about 1 1/4 cup anyway. Just add the BETTY CROCKER Angel Food Cake box mix with the pineapple, pineapple juice, 1 tsp of vanilla extract (I did, but never tried w/out it yet so I don't know the difference.) Crushed pineapple may be better, but I only had chunks, so I chose to chops the chunks in 1/4ths, so that they could be evenly distributed throughout the batter. Mix batter at low speed for 30 sec & medium speed for 1 minute (as recommended on the cake box). GREASE non-stick pan (even the disposable one) with non-stick cooking spray before adding batter. I didn't quite understand what the cooling part instructions were, regarding the glass or cans people recommended, so after 40 minutes of baking, I easily took a separate cookie pan (ALSO greased) and flipped the cake onto it to cool off. The bottom of the cake was still moist, so I immediately put back into oven for another 5 minutes at same temp (350 degrees) to let bottom of cake bake more. Once times was up, I pulled it out & placed the original 9 x 13 pan onto the cookie pan and carefully flipped it back over. Tada ! Both sides well cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I was concerned that this recipe wouldn't turn out after reading the contradictory reviews. However, it was very easy and refreshing! I GREASED a 9x13 glass dish. Mixed for 1-2 minutes like the box said with an electric mixer. Also used just a one bag mix. Baked for longer than instructed at 40 MINUTES (although my oven does tend to undercook). I cooled this on the counter WITHOUT turning upside down. Worked great, without sticking to the dish. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Super easy and very yummy! I had to bake mine longer than 25 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Such an easy recipe that is a huge crowd pleaser! Smell fabulous while baking and tastes incredible! Like a quick Hawaiian vacation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I love this recipe - so very easy and so very delicious. I used a whipped frosting and then put coconut on (I called it my Pina Colada cupcakes) - they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carin Sweerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I made this as directed (baked a little longer) but otherwise as directed. It turned out perfect in the pan. I topped it with fresh berries and light cool whip. My issue is that it is just not that great. Something is missing it just didn't taste like much of anything and not sweet enough to satisfying that sweet tooth. I know it is supposed to be a low calorie dessert and that is what I wanted but I think I would rather have one small piece of something really good and flavorful than a piece of something that just doesn't satisfy. I tossed the last two pieces, low cal or not, I didn't want it, hubby didn't want it and I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
First time I had this was at my sister's home. She opted for slightly sweetened, chopped fresh strawberries and the whipped topping. Omigosh! Like strawberry shortcake with a twist. I love this recipe. Not too bad for my diet. Delicious and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda W
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
A friend brought this cake to work for a party. It was so delicious I had to make it for my diabetic, he loved it. On top of that it's incredibly easy to make. Give it a try, I think many of you will like it. You can also substitute blueberry, cherry, or lemon pie filling in place of the pineapple for a different take on it, I've read. JJTBQ - Warren, Ohio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I love this recipe A great stand by. My kitchen always has at least 1 box of Angel Food Cake Mix and a 20 ounce can of crushed pineapple. I always make mine in a tube pan. DO NOT GREASE THE PAN.Put it together and when it comes out of the oven hang the pan on something so that it can cool upside down. I use the same glass bowl that I mix the batter in If you have ever made ANGEL FOOD CAKE DO WHAT WE HAVE DONE FOR YEARS. There is another Angel food recipe that uses canned Pumpkin, it is awesome also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I also used the angel food cake that had 2 packages. The cake is flat and dense. Tastes good. Next time I will use a different mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States