Pina Colada Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Flavor is good! Although the instructions are easy, I don't understand how the sorbet is possibly ready in 25 minutes when you have to chill the mixture 2-3 hours or overnight before using the ice cream maker?? :-/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
The tropical taste of coconut and pineapple is alluring on a hot summer day but sugary sweet not so much. Simply reduced the white sugar to 1 cup when making the syrup as the pineapple is packed with sweetness. Used a fresh, juicy whole pineapple instead of canned. Two-thirds of pineapple processed in a Vitamix blender to get a smooth and frothy mixture, and remaining portion pulsed several times so that there would be some small pieces of pineapple. This turned out great, and was plenty sweet for our tastes. Thank you, CALLALILLIE for sharing this refreshing summer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I first made this sorbet recipe a few days ago but I have to admit, I substituted some things, so the results weren't as expected. We are trying to watch our sugar so the first thing I did was cut that down. I made the syrup w/ 1c. water, 1/2c. PureVia, and 1/2c. Sugar. I used a 20oz. can of chunk pineapple (drained) instead of crushed because it's what I had on hand. I put the coconut milk and the pineapple in a blender and blended until smooth, tempered in the simple syrup, added the lime juice and chilled overnight. After following the Mfg. instructions on my ice cream maker, the sorbet just hadn't set as firm as I'd liked so I scooped it into a Rubbermaid container and stuck it in the freezer hoping it would set a little more. Actually, it froze...SOLID Lol. We had to defrost it in the fridge for 30 minutes and then hand mix it to achieve the consistency I was looking for. Even after all that, I still have to say the taste was spot-on. So delicious and refreshing! I made a new batch tonight and followed the directions "to the T" so, fingers crossed that Round Two results in success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I modified this recipe by using fresh orange juice instead of lime juice, my family absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JiGeo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great dairy free dessert! Gets pretty solid so set out a few minutes before you actually plan on eating it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but it was not to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkeytoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is amazing, one of the best sorbets I ever had.Perfect for a hot day,great flavor and very refreshing.WILL MAKE AGAIN AND AGAIN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by special-kei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Since my dad didn't have an ice cream maker we had to make the drink instead. But overall, it was pretty good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Made the recipe just how it says. The sorbet turned out perfect. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Fear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was so easy! And relatively cheap compared to other deserts I make. I accidentally used twice as much lime juice. Next time I will still use 1/2 c lime juice, but reduce the sugar by about 1/4 - 1/2 c. Everyone loved it, but some commented that they had sugar overloads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States