Pina Colada Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I changed it a little bit.Instead of coconut cream pudding I used vanila. And for the rum I used pineapple rum. An easy and good tasting desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I hate to give a bad review, but this cake was SUCH a disappointment. It had an overly sweet and unnatural flavor--and smell. I made this cake for my husband's family, and was really embarrassed when we all took our first bite. I had been hoping that the cake would taste better than it smelled, but it was worse. Thankfully, the frosting (whipped cream, cream of coconut pudding, flaked coconut, and crushed pineapple) was delicious, so we scrapped it off of the cake and ate that by itself. Like I said, I hate giving bad reviews, so I apologize, but I regret wasting my time making and serving this cake so I felt it was important to share my feelings on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Worth every calorie...I used a pineapple cake mix, coconut rum, and toasted my coconut flakes. YUmmmy-licious!! Always moist and a hit everytime it's served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Four Roads, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Oh my goodness! When a recipe is this good you should not mess with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Shepherd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Garden City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Had a rum party after visiting the Bahamas! This cake was perfect. I too had to use vanilla pudding, but I had coconut flavored rum to make up for it. The frosting makes the cake light and refreshing. I will use this recipe many times. Also, I usually bake from scratch and found the doctoring of the cake mix helped that I did not feel guilty for serving a cake mix desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Made this for Easter and WOW it was a hit. Everyone loved it! I will definately make again! Thanks Roger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
My husband loved this cake. I used light rum instead of dark because that is what I had on hand; probably would have been better with the dark, but still delicious! Thanks for the recipe Roger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by Pat
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I made the cake with fat free frozen whipped topping which cut the calories just a bit. I love this cake because it's not too sweet, and very light. I made this cake for a birthday party, I decorated the top with chocolate shells, and macadamia nuts for rocks, and a paper umbrella. Everyone just loved the cake. I made it for a pot luck also, and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was sooooooo yummy. Like another reviewer suggested, I too used pineapple juice instead of the 1/2 cup of water. I also used more rum (1/2 cup) in the batter. My parents visited for the Thanksgiving holidays and absolutely raved about this cake...I think my Dad ate almost half the cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Hands down BEST cake in the world! A huge hit at all the family get togethers! I used a 20oz can of crushed pineapple instead of the 8oz can. I added half the pineapple to the cake batter and used the juice from the can instead of using water. And always, a little extra rum! Made the cake SO moist! Best cake ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States